We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb .. must visit at least once”
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #19 of 508 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply superb .. must visit at least once”
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Ive been to Coorg many times in the past, this place still managed to blow my mind. You can blindly choose this property to spend a couple of days and will really enjoy it. The views were breathtaking, nature was raw and untouched and the accommodation itself can match up to a 4 star hotel standard. Also the hosts Dilip and Vidya were simply excellent.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bhavnagar, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Awake to the call of the Barbet and crested Bulbul and the sight of mist covered hills. No net, mobile tower or TV to currupt the pristine natural environment. Take morning walks into the Coffee plantation or just wander along the winding paths to catch a glimpse of fascinating insects, moss covered rocks and tree trunks and beautiful wild flowers . Kabbe Holidays is a paradise for bird watchers and nature lovers. Mr. Dilip, our host accompanied us to hill treks, plantation walks and also took us to a serene mountain stream. His wife, Vidya is a charming hostess whose lively chats added flavour to the delicious meals at Kabbe. I was deeply touched by this very charming couple. God bless them.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank abdi_rupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We had a short, yet memorable stay at this place. Since the cottages were booked, we took the deluxe room. There's a common verandah for two deluxe rooms, whereas the cottages has private verandahs. The deluxe rooms were well appointed; other than a king-size bed, there is a convertible sofa and fridge. An electric kettle is also provided. Washroom had all the required toiletries and was clean. Hot water is available in the taps & shower.
Dilip & family were on an outstation trip when we arrived, but everything was well looked after by the caretaker Muthaiyah. Upon arrival, we were served yummy cakes, coffee/tea and vada. Muthaiyah customised the menu according our food preference; this was quite important for us since we had a child with us. Food was prepared fresh, and was hot and plentiful. We also had interesting conversations with other guests. These are things which you can enjoy only in a homestay.
A 10-min trek from the homestay will take you into the midst of rolling hills with nothing but nature for company. Going even further, you can trek onto the peak of a few hills. It's not a very difficult trek but we had to abandon it in between because my son was too young to trek and we got tired of carrying him on the steep path. But even with the short trek that we did, we had awesome views and enjoyed it thoroughly.
There's a waterfall nearby which seemed popular with tourists. Also, there's a coffee plantation behind the cottages where you can go for a walk. We saw leeches on our shoes both during plantation walk & during the hill trek; not too many, but this is something to be mindful of.
Another thing to note is the approach road. At Cheyandane, once you turn away from the main road towards the homestay, the road gets bad. This goes for ~2kms and then you encounter an excellent concrete road which goes all the way till the homestay & beyond. However, this road is not very wide; with some big vehicles taking tourists to the waterfall, navigating when you encounter another vehicle might turn tricky.
Overall, this place is best suited for a relaxing holiday with family.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids. We had visited in November and the weather was pleasent (17deg - 27deg). It is a very scenic property, very well developed and maintained by the owners. The hosts were courteous. We were sure our stay was going to be exacellent from the warm welcome we received by Vidya and Dilip (the owners).

The food is exceptionally good. Everyday we were surprised by the variety of food she offered. The room facilities are basic, but clean - perfect for the type of stay we wanted.

Dilip is interested in Current affairs and is very much up to date with it. So, the meal time was one of the highlights with discussions over varied topics. It was like meeting old family friends.

Thanks Kabbe. :)

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sameer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were a group of 6 adults and 2 kids who stayed at Kabbe homestay in October. It is a small scenic property with well-maintained rooms and views to die for. Dilip and Vidya are very helpful and gracious hosts. Dilip stayed in touch after our booking and helped a lot with directions etc and even booking a cake prior to our arrival for a friend's birthday. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. We loved the akki roti with til powder & honey. Meals were limited in terms of dishes but tasty and plentiful. Great if you love traditional home cooked food. There are a couple of lovely treks around and a sweet bathing pool very close by. Highly recommend this place for a de-stressing break.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apssan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
27.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,445 reviews
3.2 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
501 reviews
29.3 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
245 reviews
24.4 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
4.5 km away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Property: Kabbe Holidays
Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 508 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing