We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing stay”
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #20 of 519 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We had a short, yet memorable stay at this place. Since the cottages were booked, we took the deluxe room. There's a common verandah for two deluxe rooms, whereas the cottages has private verandahs. The deluxe rooms were well appointed; other than a king-size bed, there is a convertible sofa and fridge. An electric kettle is also provided. Washroom had all the required toiletries and was clean. Hot water is available in the taps & shower.
Dilip & family were on an outstation trip when we arrived, but everything was well looked after by the caretaker Muthaiyah. Upon arrival, we were served yummy cakes, coffee/tea and vada. Muthaiyah customised the menu according our food preference; this was quite important for us since we had a child with us. Food was prepared fresh, and was hot and plentiful. We also had interesting conversations with other guests. These are things which you can enjoy only in a homestay.
A 10-min trek from the homestay will take you into the midst of rolling hills with nothing but nature for company. Going even further, you can trek onto the peak of a few hills. It's not a very difficult trek but we had to abandon it in between because my son was too young to trek and we got tired of carrying him on the steep path. But even with the short trek that we did, we had awesome views and enjoyed it thoroughly.
There's a waterfall nearby which seemed popular with tourists. Also, there's a coffee plantation behind the cottages where you can go for a walk. We saw leeches on our shoes both during plantation walk & during the hill trek; not too many, but this is something to be mindful of.
Another thing to note is the approach road. At Cheyandane, once you turn away from the main road towards the homestay, the road gets bad. This goes for ~2kms and then you encounter an excellent concrete road which goes all the way till the homestay & beyond. However, this road is not very wide; with some big vehicles taking tourists to the waterfall, navigating when you encounter another vehicle might turn tricky.
Overall, this place is best suited for a relaxing holiday with family.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MountainLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Kabbe Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids. We had visited in November and the weather was pleasent (17deg - 27deg). It is a very scenic property, very well developed and maintained by the owners. The hosts were courteous. We were sure our stay was going to be exacellent from the warm welcome we received by Vidya and Dilip (the owners).

The food is exceptionally good. Everyday we were surprised by the variety of food she offered. The room facilities are basic, but clean - perfect for the type of stay we wanted.

Dilip is interested in Current affairs and is very much up to date with it. So, the meal time was one of the highlights with discussions over varied topics. It was like meeting old family friends.

Thanks Kabbe. :)

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were a group of 6 adults and 2 kids who stayed at Kabbe homestay in October. It is a small scenic property with well-maintained rooms and views to die for. Dilip and Vidya are very helpful and gracious hosts. Dilip stayed in touch after our booking and helped a lot with directions etc and even booking a cake prior to our arrival for a friend's birthday. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. We loved the akki roti with til powder & honey. Meals were limited in terms of dishes but tasty and plentiful. Great if you love traditional home cooked food. There are a couple of lovely treks around and a sweet bathing pool very close by. Highly recommend this place for a de-stressing break.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apssan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We visited in the last week of September 2016. Long drive in the midst of forests and coffee estate. Beautiful place, well maintained rooms. Very good hospitality by owner and care takers. You can enjoy akki rotti, special til chatney with honey. Puttu and vegitable curry.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandinidholepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

What a beautiful place in the midst of hills & plantations – anywhere you look is green. Quite a few trek options around the property. We went for one as suggested by the hosts, and the view from the top of the hill was to die for. It rained the previous night and we saw a huge rainbow. Here’s a picture to validate the awesomeness. There is also a nice waterfall, about 15-20 minutes from the homestay.

Dilip and Vidya were such gracious hosts. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. They arranged for some authentic pandhi curry for dinner upon our request and my husband devoured it (I am a vegetarian). They made sure we tasted the staple Coorgi breakfast – akki roti with til (sesame seeds) powder & honey. It was great! Dilip also took us on a walk through their coffee plantations & showed us around. The rooms were nice & clean. If a plantation stay is in your charts, you must try this place! We recommended it to a few friends and they loved it too.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishwarya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
27.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,481 reviews
3.2 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
505 reviews
38.6 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
467 reviews
29.8 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
250 reviews
4.5 km away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 6 in Kakkabe
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 519 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price Range: ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing