We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, gracious hosts and delicious food”
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #19 of 507 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent stay, gracious hosts and delicious food”
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids. We had visited in November and the weather was pleasent (17deg - 27deg). It is a very scenic property, very well developed and maintained by the owners. The hosts were courteous. We were sure our stay was going to be exacellent from the warm welcome we received by Vidya and Dilip (the owners).

The food is exceptionally good. Everyday we were surprised by the variety of food she offered. The room facilities are basic, but clean - perfect for the type of stay we wanted.

Dilip is interested in Current affairs and is very much up to date with it. So, the meal time was one of the highlights with discussions over varied topics. It was like meeting old family friends.

Thanks Kabbe. :)

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sameer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were a group of 6 adults and 2 kids who stayed at Kabbe homestay in October. It is a small scenic property with well-maintained rooms and views to die for. Dilip and Vidya are very helpful and gracious hosts. Dilip stayed in touch after our booking and helped a lot with directions etc and even booking a cake prior to our arrival for a friend's birthday. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. We loved the akki roti with til powder & honey. Meals were limited in terms of dishes but tasty and plentiful. Great if you love traditional home cooked food. There are a couple of lovely treks around and a sweet bathing pool very close by. Highly recommend this place for a de-stressing break.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apssan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We visited in the last week of September 2016. Long drive in the midst of forests and coffee estate. Beautiful place, well maintained rooms. Very good hospitality by owner and care takers. You can enjoy akki rotti, special til chatney with honey. Puttu and vegitable curry.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandinidholepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

What a beautiful place in the midst of hills & plantations – anywhere you look is green. Quite a few trek options around the property. We went for one as suggested by the hosts, and the view from the top of the hill was to die for. It rained the previous night and we saw a huge rainbow. Here’s a picture to validate the awesomeness. There is also a nice waterfall, about 15-20 minutes from the homestay.

Dilip and Vidya were such gracious hosts. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. They arranged for some authentic pandhi curry for dinner upon our request and my husband devoured it (I am a vegetarian). They made sure we tasted the staple Coorgi breakfast – akki roti with til (sesame seeds) powder & honey. It was great! Dilip also took us on a walk through their coffee plantations & showed us around. The rooms were nice & clean. If a plantation stay is in your charts, you must try this place! We recommended it to a few friends and they loved it too.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I have been to coorg and the kakkabe / cheyandane areas countless number of times, and missed this beautifula and serene place for these many years. Was visiting coorg along with a cousin from chennai, so wanted to make him experience the real coorg instead of the hustle and bustle of madikeri or some fancy resorts. And Kabbe holidays was an ideal choice i would say. Located at an awesome location, just on top of the famous chelavara falls, Kabbe Holidays is a very nice and cosy homestay on the way to kabbe view point.

The hosts will serve you some mouth watering authentic home made coorgi delicacies.

Our host Mr chengappa was a very gracious and took extra care of all our needs. With his experience in working on big plantations in various places, it was good talking with him on a variety of subjects including polictics and sports. :)

There's a small trek to kabbe point from the homestay, which everyone can attempt including kids, taking you to a panaromic view of the coorg and kerala.

There are few other trekking points like tadiondamol very near by, for hard core trekkers.

Overall a very nice experience, although we spent only a night over there. I would surely return back for a longer holiday in the serene and close to nature "kabbe holidays"

Room Tip: all the rooms have same views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
27.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,444 reviews
3.2 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
501 reviews
29.3 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
245 reviews
24.4 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
4.5 km away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Property: Kabbe Holidays
Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 507 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing