We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful plantation home stay!”
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #19 of 508 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful plantation home stay!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016

What a beautiful place in the midst of hills & plantations – anywhere you look is green. Quite a few trek options around the property. We went for one as suggested by the hosts, and the view from the top of the hill was to die for. It rained the previous night and we saw a huge rainbow. Here’s a picture to validate the awesomeness. There is also a nice waterfall, about 15-20 minutes from the homestay.

Dilip and Vidya were such gracious hosts. They joined us for a couple of meals and were good company to chat with. They arranged for some authentic pandhi curry for dinner upon our request and my husband devoured it (I am a vegetarian). They made sure we tasted the staple Coorgi breakfast – akki roti with til (sesame seeds) powder & honey. It was great! Dilip also took us on a walk through their coffee plantations & showed us around. The rooms were nice & clean. If a plantation stay is in your charts, you must try this place! We recommended it to a few friends and they loved it too.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I have been to coorg and the kakkabe / cheyandane areas countless number of times, and missed this beautifula and serene place for these many years. Was visiting coorg along with a cousin from chennai, so wanted to make him experience the real coorg instead of the hustle and bustle of madikeri or some fancy resorts. And Kabbe holidays was an ideal choice i would say. Located at an awesome location, just on top of the famous chelavara falls, Kabbe Holidays is a very nice and cosy homestay on the way to kabbe view point.

The hosts will serve you some mouth watering authentic home made coorgi delicacies.

Our host Mr chengappa was a very gracious and took extra care of all our needs. With his experience in working on big plantations in various places, it was good talking with him on a variety of subjects including polictics and sports. :)

There's a small trek to kabbe point from the homestay, which everyone can attempt including kids, taking you to a panaromic view of the coorg and kerala.

There are few other trekking points like tadiondamol very near by, for hard core trekkers.

Overall a very nice experience, although we spent only a night over there. I would surely return back for a longer holiday in the serene and close to nature "kabbe holidays"

Room Tip: all the rooms have same views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed at Coorg Adventure Club owned by Kabbe Holidays. We were a group of 15 friends and we choose to stay in their Dormitory. To our surprise the dorm was very clean and the wash rooms were tidy. All of us had very great time. Their manager Praveen took very good care of us. Dileep the owner of Kabbe Holidays is a great person who makes sure that every guest is taken good care of. He spent his personal time to take all of us to the most beautiful location we have ever seen in our life.

Room Tip: Its a remote place but its why you go to Coorg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen_Marella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Great location. The hosts in Mr and Mrs Chengappa are very hospitable.
Good for nature lovers since there is good scope for treks.
The food is very good and each meal was sumptuous.
All in all, an amazing option in Coorg

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Omkar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

First saw the place in 2005, first stayed there in 2010 and revisited in 2016 and on all occasions fell in love with this place afresh. Such is the instant connection that you will make with the Chengappas (Dilip and Vidya, property owners, rather nourishers) that you wont get a feeling of being hosted, but rather get this comfortable vibe of visiting your aunt and uncle in your native village.

What you can do here? With limited distractions from technology (no TV, sporadic network), the stay is all about you and nature - Look up in any direction, spot a hill and just start walking towards it and you will return feeling satisfied.

Stay? Clean, warm and cozy, cottages, But seriously, with so much waiting for you outside, you will use the rooms for nothing more than a deserving sleep at the end of a tiring day.

Food? You will end every meal mentally noting that you wont eat THAT much in the next meal, but only end up eating a lot more. Variety, palatability, authenticity - all are top notch.

With great conviction I have made a strong recommendation to countless colleagues and friends to stay here the next time they visit Coorg. You will return with mixed emotions of satisfaction and a desire to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
27.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,448 reviews
3.2 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
503 reviews
29.3 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
245 reviews
33.5 km away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
167 reviews
24.4 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Property: Kabbe Holidays
Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 508 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing