We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kabbe Holidays--- Theeeee place to unwind from City stress and find the inner you.”
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #20 of 519 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A sudden plan over a coffee between friends at coffee bar in Mumbai, & there began our hunt for a place to stay in Coorg oops!! Coog (r is silent as the Kodavas say it). Recommend highly by 2 of our close friends, we set for the journey not knowing what's awaiting us.

Reaching Kabbe holidays was almost travelling and reaching another home. Dilip and Vidya our hosts were such warm and sweet people to know. We were really treated with special care at every step.

At Kabbe, you wake up to a morning of chirpy birds in Coffee plantation , fresh oxygen, light showers and a tangerine plant laden with fruits outside your window and a light smell of firewood. A cup of coffee would be waiting for you along with Pajji and Otti local lovely delicacy in breakfast one cannot stop eating. Dilip would ensure his hosts have eaten to their hearts content.

Puttus, Pandi Curry, Pork Chilli, Kori Roti... and Bread Pudding, Apple Crumble and Payasum deserts at their best are to die for. Wonderful treks with Dilip and Karun and serene beauty, you might be lucky to hear the lovely bird Malabar Whistling Thrush, don't mistaken it for a boy whistling back ;0)

Thank you Dilip, Vidya, Karun and Dev for making our vacation a one to remember, waiting to come back. A big thank you to the staff (Jaya and company) You guys ROCK as a team!!!! Karun, this time wana learn more games beyond Poker wat say ;)

Warm Regards. Shivali and Deepak Suvarna

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shivs389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Kabbe Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Good place to spend your long weekend. Good hospitality and definitely not to miss a very good HOST, Mr. Dileep chengappa. A great pleasure to spend your evening with him. Although we felt we were a little lost while reaching but still we were able to call the Homestay and get help to reach. Awesome two days spent at Kabbe. Great food, good fun time. We had planned to visit the nearby places but after reaching Kabbe we decided we just don't want to miss even a single moment away from the place. We decided to be lost in the nature's lap. We never wanted to leave the place but we had no choice :( . We also did a trekking which was taken care by Carun. Thanks Carun for that awesome trek. Hoping to visit again sooner.

Keep it going. Great Job.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destination2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Four of us went expecting nothing, got everything and more. What a host of a family these Chengappas, plonked us right into their living room and made us feel right at home. Must say I am looking forward to going back at every opportunity I get. For the location, the hospitality, the food and those lovely critters (moths mostly). 10/10 to their lovely staff. Did I mention the food yet, what's the point, you have to taste it to believe it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithtabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Work was hectic for me, wife and kid were bored of daily routine. Thats when we started thinking about Kabbe. We planned on a thrusday and landed on friday at Kabbe. the 3 days we spent at Dilip's house was one of our memorable trips ever done so far. We spent less time on trekking and site seeing but most of the time, we were just chilling out enjoying the rainy weather and awesome food. Icing on the cake was Dilip. He was a perfect host and a nice gentle man. Took us to near by falls and hills without any grudge. Amazing thing is that it comes naturally to him. One more good thing about the stay was, none of the mobile phones work there, no cable TV, no black berry, what else do you want for a vacation.

_Ram

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe cottage
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram_51277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Us:
2 families - 4 adults and 3 kids

Getting there:
We drove from Bangalore (left from Maratahalli around 7AM) and stopped at Kamat Lokaruchi for breakfast. After passing Madikeri we missed the turning towards Chenyandane village and reached Virajpet, then doubled back. This time we did ok and reached Kabbe Holidays around 3PM. The place is out of the way - but then again, that's what makes it special. If I wanted a house in town close to a main road, I'd have just as well stayed home.

What next?
We had 2 single rooms - the rooms were beautiful, clean. View was awesome.
Got some hot tea, then later in the evening, some good snacks. We simply had dinner and crashed.

Day 2:
Dilip took us for a walk to the hill (not Kabbe hill - a smaller one). It was semi-rainy with a lot of mist. The trek was spectacular to say the least. The kids (3.5, 4 and 8) didn't complain much and had a blast. The adults were pretty stretched but when we got to the top - no one uttered anything. Our jaws pretty much dropped. Beautiful.

Anyways, after a lot of nice photos and some jolly chatter, we headed back for a bath and breakfast by 10:30AM.

We then went with another couple of families to the Chelavara Falls - in full regalia with the rainwater inflow. The walk to the base of the falls was less than a km but pretty messy trail. But when we reached the base, it was worth it and more. What a spectacular cascade. Dilip took us to the base of the falls in the middle of the torrential stream over the rocks - windy, spray from the falls and then a drizzle. What an experience. All of us (kids included) were awe struck and soaked.

Earlier we took a diversion to a downstream area where we could get into the stream and play around.

Heading back, we all washed up for lunch around 2 - post lunch, it was rain, rain and rain - so we did what makes for memorable holidays. Had hot tea and played rounds of cards in the verandah.

Finally, on day 3 - we had a sumptuous breakfast of Akki roti and headed back to Bangalore so that the kids have enough time to get ready for school.

All in all - this was exactly what a holiday break should be - Dilip is a great host !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0gamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
27.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,481 reviews
3.2 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
505 reviews
38.6 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
468 reviews
29.8 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
250 reviews
4.5 km away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 6 in Kakkabe
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 519 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price Range: ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing