We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 235
US$ 184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 188
US$ 176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 123
US$ 115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 149
US$ 117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 105
US$ 89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 551
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tamara Coorg(Yavakapadi Village)
US$ 393
US$ 379
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
118
33
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
33
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdilip and vidyathe cottagescoffee estatebeautiful placehome away from homemorning cuppaserene natureincessant rainsrolling hillspickup truckquality family timedeluxe cottagegreat hoststraditional coorglush green surroundingsspecial mentiongreat homestay
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Good place to spend your long weekend. Good hospitality and definitely not to miss a very good HOST, Mr. Dileep chengappa. A great pleasure to spend your evening with him. Although we felt we were a little lost while reaching but still we were able to call the Homestay and get help to reach. Awesome two days spent at Kabbe. Great food, good fun time. We had planned to visit the nearby places but after reaching Kabbe we decided we just don't want to miss even a single moment away from the place. We decided to be lost in the nature's lap. We never wanted to leave the place but we had no choice :( . We also did a trekking which was taken care by Carun. Thanks Carun for that awesome trek. Hoping to visit again sooner.

Keep it going. Great Job.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destination2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Four of us went expecting nothing, got everything and more. What a host of a family these Chengappas, plonked us right into their living room and made us feel right at home. Must say I am looking forward to going back at every opportunity I get. For the location, the hospitality, the food and those lovely critters (moths mostly). 10/10 to their lovely staff. Did I mention the food yet, what's the point, you have to taste it to believe it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithtabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Work was hectic for me, wife and kid were bored of daily routine. Thats when we started thinking about Kabbe. We planned on a thrusday and landed on friday at Kabbe. the 3 days we spent at Dilip's house was one of our memorable trips ever done so far. We spent less time on trekking and site seeing but most of the time, we were just chilling out enjoying the rainy weather and awesome food. Icing on the cake was Dilip. He was a perfect host and a nice gentle man. Took us to near by falls and hills without any grudge. Amazing thing is that it comes naturally to him. One more good thing about the stay was, none of the mobile phones work there, no cable TV, no black berry, what else do you want for a vacation.

_Ram

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe cottage
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram_51277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Us:
2 families - 4 adults and 3 kids

Getting there:
We drove from Bangalore (left from Maratahalli around 7AM) and stopped at Kamat Lokaruchi for breakfast. After passing Madikeri we missed the turning towards Chenyandane village and reached Virajpet, then doubled back. This time we did ok and reached Kabbe Holidays around 3PM. The place is out of the way - but then again, that's what makes it special. If I wanted a house in town close to a main road, I'd have just as well stayed home.

What next?
We had 2 single rooms - the rooms were beautiful, clean. View was awesome.
Got some hot tea, then later in the evening, some good snacks. We simply had dinner and crashed.

Day 2:
Dilip took us for a walk to the hill (not Kabbe hill - a smaller one). It was semi-rainy with a lot of mist. The trek was spectacular to say the least. The kids (3.5, 4 and 8) didn't complain much and had a blast. The adults were pretty stretched but when we got to the top - no one uttered anything. Our jaws pretty much dropped. Beautiful.

Anyways, after a lot of nice photos and some jolly chatter, we headed back for a bath and breakfast by 10:30AM.

We then went with another couple of families to the Chelavara Falls - in full regalia with the rainwater inflow. The walk to the base of the falls was less than a km but pretty messy trail. But when we reached the base, it was worth it and more. What a spectacular cascade. Dilip took us to the base of the falls in the middle of the torrential stream over the rocks - windy, spray from the falls and then a drizzle. What an experience. All of us (kids included) were awe struck and soaked.

Earlier we took a diversion to a downstream area where we could get into the stream and play around.

Heading back, we all washed up for lunch around 2 - post lunch, it was rain, rain and rain - so we did what makes for memorable holidays. Had hot tea and played rounds of cards in the verandah.

Finally, on day 3 - we had a sumptuous breakfast of Akki roti and headed back to Bangalore so that the kids have enough time to get ready for school.

All in all - this was exactly what a holiday break should be - Dilip is a great host !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0gamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed a year back with my family in one of their cottages.The location though little off from madikeri(which is almost the centre point of coorg), is serene and tranquil.The approach road for the last few kilometers is narrow and winding and needs a deft driver to get through.feel free to call up the hosts well before you hit the winding roads so that they can help if needed.The mobile signal is weak and erratic so plan in advance.The cottages are nicely done and spacious, though the washrooms can do with a bit of perking up.It is a homestay so do not expect a star hotel level service or luxury.The host are extremely hospitable and take really good care.The food is sumptuous.They take take you for a walk around their plantations, the hills nearby and also to a nice waterfall.This is an ideal place for a laid back holiday , not recommended if you want to hop between tourists spots.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews