We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pleasant stay, great food, excellent host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabbe Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coorg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabbe Holidays
Ranked #12 of 452 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasant stay, great food, excellent host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

While skeptical to start with because of a long journey and tiring (last mile) approach, things started to brighten up as we started to settle in. It was an extended family gettogether, 10 adults, 3 kids and 2 toddler/infants, hmm, large party :).

Hot pakoras, freshly brewed coffee (supposed to be from the same estate) in midst of twinkling fireflies was an excellent experience. Serene surroundings, cool evening, firepit dinner really charged us up.

Some of the hikes around the resort were challenging enough, Dilip(host) guided us with more trails that we could explore on our own.

We had booked for 3 guest houses/rooms and each were comfortable and could accomodate our gang with ease. They were well isolated but still near enough. Bathrooms could have been better especially the hot water which was more of a scheduled things vs being available through the day. But given the weather it wasn't a deal breaker.

Dilip was an excellent host making things happen at a clock precision. You get to really appreciate his efforts when you experience some of sub-par services that others provide in the vicinity. Plantation walk was educational.

We had a 6 month baby and we had absolutely no issues at the resort. Amenities were good to coupe for the 2 nights we had planned, definitely my wife had packed quite a bit for the baby. (except the long journey back to Bangalore, thx to our bullok-cart driver).

Overall this was a pleasant stay and a good trip. To top it, we had a chance to attend the village fesitval which was an absolute wonderful experience by itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chetanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Its hard to review a place where I felt so much at home that the only place I could compare its hospitality to would be the the summer vacation breaks I took as a kid to visit my granny's home. Mr. Dilip Chengappa,you are unmatched. That said, I would like to recommend this place to everyone who doesn't mind an introspecting walk in the night with a million fireflies lighting up your path, or following the malabari whistling thrush, trying to imitate its human-like whistle, which accompanied by memories of rain and the taste of filter coffee sits right at the top of your most haunting memories list, or burning around your carefully harvested calories in kayaking in Cauvery and trekking to waterfalls and hilltops. If any of the above really bothers you, I'll be pleased to recommend you some nice places in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayant1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nearly an hour away from Virajpet bus stand is Kabbe Holidays, a beautiful homestay almost hidden at the foothills of Kabbe. This is on the border of Karnataka & Kerala. Tadiandamol peak (the tallest in this Madikeri district) is right beside Kabbe. The view of hills all around is spectacular! The owner & host Mr.Dilip is friendly & a cool guide to Coorg. His coffee estate on this hill allows you to take a peak into the amazing coffee world. Food is simply awesome!!

The rooms are spacious, clean & bright. This is a great place to stay if you love nature, want to watch birds, trek hills, gaze at dark velvet star-lit skies & discover Coorg in all its natural & historic forms!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RashmiKakde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

First place i went to after reading their website - period. From Bangalore leave early to avoid Mysore road traffic snarls. 6 hours (yes you need food and loo stops - plenty of Coffee Days etc!) later - acres of breathing space - Oxygen levels clear your brain-youre human again!.
Location- brilliant.Why?-you can trek , 2peaks or more,play in water (summer dry/should be magic in november)., see a 250 year old ancestral home, walk coffee plantations,plenty of birdwatching( he can also arrange for adventure sports if you so desire! - just ask !)
Food- home food , again ask in advance and you can actually have what you want.
Housekeeping- the pillows/ mattress/linen can be much better, wood needs polishing ( only grouse)
no TV ( which is good ! why do you need a TV!) Phone signals BSNL works best , No Idea , rest of the networks are manageable.
Host - The hidden treasure of this place - Mr NC Chinappa or "dilip" ! You should go here and let him take care of you - you wont be disappointed . Dilip - thanks for the family visit , the trek and being a truly outstanding host ! Next visit in winter !

Room Tip: Get the cottages - they are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabbeholidays, Owner at Kabbe Holidays, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hi Amit,

Hope your doing well !

Thanks for visiting Kabbe Holidays . Appreciate your views in the review that you have posted .

Will take note of linen/pillows and ensure they are in top condition .

With regards to the wood being unpolished - we have used a matte finish on most of the furniture on our property to provide an earthy feel .

Nevertheless , we will take your view on board , as we would constantly like to improve the experience for our guests.

Look forward to having you again.

Warm Regards

Dilip & Vidya
Kabbe Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A few friends and I visited Coorg last week and thanks to Tripadviser discovered this gem of a place- Kabbe Homestay. It turned out to be one of the best breaks ever for us. The homestay is truly that- a home. Dilip the owner is a wonderful host, right from guiding us with directions and tips on what to carry, to welcoming us when we reached late evening. He personally showed us some wonderful sights near his property- the serene and majestic Kabbe hill that we treked one morning, his coffee estate and his ancestral home. The food was absolutely divine, home-cooked, delicious and innovative with local cuisine and ingredients. His team were helpful and ever-smiling. If its Coorg, it should be Kabbe!

Room Tip: The independent cottages where we stayed are large, clean and have a great view. The deluxe rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coorg hotels
38.5 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
3.3 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
28.1 km away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
27.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
24.4 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabbe Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabbe Holidays

Property: Kabbe Holidays
Address: Chelavara Village | Cheyandane Post, 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 452 Speciality Lodging in Coorg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,562 - ₹ 3,965
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kabbe Holidays is one of my favourite places in Coorg. Unspoilt and spectacularly beautiful, the hills are truly alive with the sounds of nature. Breathtaking waterfalls crash down into the valley and the air is so pure and always fresh. Summer, monsoon or winter, Kabbe Holidays is the one place in Coorg closest to heaven on earth."-Prasad BidapaFashion and Image Consultant (Comment from one of our guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabbe Holidays Coorg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing