We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WelcomHeritage Judge's Court
Nearby Hotels
US$ 61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 64
US$ 54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atithi(Palampur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
White Ridge Hotel(Dharamsala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centre Point(Dharamsala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
130
67
27
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
67
27
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelmain buildingold world charmshort walkfire pitnearby villagemagical experienceantique furniturehot water bottlesgardens are lovelyhigh courtafternoon teafront lawnvillage lifelarge roomloved this hotellounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very special place with a most attractive main house, and we were in rooms in another building in the grounds. Very comfortable, with a good restaurant and an easy walk into the old village of Pragpur. In the evening a fire was lit on the front lawn and we had our pre dinner drinks sitting around it which was lovely. We even had four men playing instruments, which included bagpipes, entertaining us outside as well!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rarrie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijai L, Owner at WelcomHeritage Judge's Court, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are grateful for your appreciation of our private residence located in an Indian village that we have converted into a hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Main building is an old Raj house in the middle of the Indian countryside Some of the rooms are located in the original building but we were in the modern block in the ornate gardens. Rooms are very comfortable and large and have all the facilities you would expect. Staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. Food, breakfast and evening meals, are excellent - certainly the India food was, I can’t comment on English-style eating. All in all an excellent country hotel to relax at but not a lot to do around it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijai L, Owner at WelcomHeritage Judge's Court, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Undoubtedly, this is the best place to stay in the little heritage village of Pragpur. Spent only one night here. Would have loved to stay longer but I was with a tour group and we had a tight schedule. The old mansion itself, The Manor, is delightful to look at and so are the relatively newer buildings that were built on the site to accommodate more visitors. Since I am particularly partial to medieval villages that exude an old world charm, I have only good things to say about Judge's Court! Since the hotel is located within the heritage village, the rest of the old houses, many of which unfortunately are in poor shape, and the very scenic community water tank are just a short walk away. The hotel owner and his wife are lovely and friendly and they make it a point to engage with their guests. The food was, overall, good. If you are staying here, do watch out for the sunrise over the Himalayas from the penthouse of the building where the dining hall is located. The owners should, perhaps, consider improving the piping as some of our group members complained the next morning that their bathroom taps had run dry.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 523Rema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This heritage hotel is a delightful oasis of calm amid the frenzy of travelling in rural India. We were welcomed by name by the hostess who had bothered to find out which one of us was which - (2 friends not a couple so different names) - the only hotel to do so - five star hotels take a lesson in hospitality! The rooms are a delightful reminder of times gone by, and yes, there are some quirky features but they merely added to the charm. We had the room which had been the dining room, and our bathroom had been the pantry, and as a result the best storage facility ever for our cases - we each had space to open our cases on our own stand. Marvellous! The most generous complimentary water supply - 2 litres per day and excellent WiFi with a simple sign on and unlimited devices. ( some of our stays on this trip involved tiddly pieces of paper with obscure user names and passwords for each device and constant need to re sign in- judges court WiFi connected automatically. Wonderful!) Yes the lounger cushions were faded but in the process of being replaced -hello moaners, they rot in the sun! The food is local and the staff are local. The host and hostess are charm and elegance personified-we felt we were guests in their home not a hotel! Oh and the home made gooseberry jam and mango chutney are to die for! Stay here for what it is. A heritage building family run, not a soulless sterile multi national!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravellingoneSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijai L, Owner at WelcomHeritage Judge's Court, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Our gratitude for the kind words that mean a lot to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Family run and full of character, a gem of a place. The garden resounds to the calls of exotic birds, and unlike so many places in India, there is no noise of honking traffic. Delicious food with homemade pickles and chutneys and all in a 3-sided haveli with terraces and verandas at all levels. Plus very ingenious mosquito-proof doors, though in early March there are none. I could go on but urge you to see for yourselves.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijai L, Owner at WelcomHeritage Judge's Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Our gratitude for the kind expressions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews