We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at GHNP with Himalayan Ecotourism”

Great Himalayan National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 440.00*
and up
Best of Himachal in 10 Days
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Kullu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 June 2016

i recently visited GHNP with my family. GHNP is pristine, serene and absolutely gorgeous. The best part is that it isn't crowded and touristy. Only visited by keen nature lovers and serious campers. I am so glad to have chosen Himalayan Ecotourism to plan our trip. I don't think I'd have discovered the place on my own otherwise (being from Mumbai). I want to thank the entire team for the most enjoyable and rejuvenating holiday I've had in a long time! Me and my family thoroughly loved it! Special mention to the amazing equipment provided to us and for customizing the tour based on our feedback even after the trip had started. The camping experience was the most memorable and the team (guides, porters, cook) sent with us were very well prepared. I recommend Himalayan Ecotourism for their planning, equipment and personal touch! Thanks once again and hope you to see ya'll soon again! :)

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Saddysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trek"
in 11 reviews
"national park"
in 35 reviews
"his team"
in 8 reviews
"wild animals"
in 4 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 4 reviews
"tirthan valley"
in 19 reviews
"local guide"
in 4 reviews
"camping experience"
in 3 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 3 reviews
"delicious food"
in 3 reviews
"personal touch"
in 2 reviews
"natural habitat"
in 2 reviews
"the river"
in 10 reviews
"amazing place"
in 5 reviews
"pakora"
in 3 reviews
"panki sood"
in 3 reviews
"wildlife enthusiasts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

69 - 73 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016

Trekked in the GHNP in May 2016 with my wife and my 12 yr daughter. Opted for the Rangthar trek which is a little tougher trek going upto 9000 ft.

Located in the Tirthan Valley of Himchal, the Rangthar trek is a two day trek which has a fair bit of climb and goes upto 9000 ft. The trek normally starts in the morning and the return is the next day afternoon. It starts from the Gushaini village in the Tirthan valley - Gushaini is sort of a base for the trek and most of the trekking groups take a night halt here before they start their trek the next day. From Gushaini, a small journey by an SUV and you are at the start of the trek.

The trek starts off from a village and with a steep climb and within a few minutes, you are in the wilderness. As the trek progresses, one is likely to cross small villages comprising of 7-8 families, earning their livelihood from farming along the slopes of the himalayas and through cattle rearing. The climb is steep and requires one to take periodic stops ... The day we trekked, there was a mild drizzle around lunch time forcing us to take shelter in one of the cattle pens on the way. The view is breath taking and gets more and more pristine as we keep going up. On the way we were lucky to sight some of the prettiest birds that one can see in the Himalayas. Lunch was en route and was a pack lunch that had been packed before we started the trek. After about 5 hours of climb and several break later, we reached Rangthar ... a smallish flat ground at the height of 9000 ft and with a water stream nearby - Ideal for camping and setting up our tents. Our guide and his team were prompt in setting up the tent and soon we were relishing a bowl of hot Maggi at 9000ft in our tent.

As dusk set in, the view was marvelous with the snow capped peaks at a distance but at eye level. The birds chirping away and cool, pleasant breeze with no man made sound to be heard - and nature talking to you. Soon it was sunset and our team of helpers got busy with the dinner arrangements .. dinner was by the bonfire and with darkness surrounding us. Around 8 pm, post dinner, the sky was absolutely clear and it was star gazing time and time for some stories and to hear experiences of out guides on some of their treks. The night wore a different look that what one sees in the cities ... pitch dark and only the light of the moon and the stars. And a chill in the air - perfect for a cup of coffee. Around 10 pm at night, after all the discussions about the Himalayas with our team of guide and helpers, we were all set to call it a day. There was absolute silence with just the occasional bark of a deer (or some animal) that kept reminding us that we had some company nearby. A small peep outside the tent around 1.00 am and it was a wonderful surprise - the moon was nowhere to be seen and all one could see was zillions of stars ... and one was starring at the milky way. Clearly visible, it was one of the most breathtaking visuals that one has every see.

Morning was a different experience altogether - chirping of birds and butterflies and bees on with their chores. A lavish breakfast of eggs, porridge, fruits and toast was laid out by our team and after devouring the lovely spread, we were ready to start our downhill trek. The trek down was a lot easier as the effort was less, but was more taxing for the knees which had to bear the impact of the downhill walk. In about 3 hours we reached the base from where we had started the trek the previous day and were soon off in an SUV to the base resort.

GHNP is a great park and is a UNESCO World Heritage sight and can only be accessed on foot. A trek in GHNP connect you to nature and the overnight stay is great to experience the different moods of the Himalayas.. When doing a trek in the Himalayas, make sure of carrying all the essentials - rain wear, extra clothes, medicines, some candies and handy eats, torch, cap, glares and your enthusiasm ... after all its an adventure and will come with some surprises.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank sainani_sameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

It's a huge national park right in the middle of the Himalayas. One needs to get a pass from a little far away from the entry gate to enter the park but it is worth going to if on the valley.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank aman_anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Great himalayan national park which is also unesco world heritage site . one can enjoy trek / nature / birding / wildlife here .

Date of experience: October 2015
4  Thank SahilParmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

I went there in the month of march. The base for GHNP is gushaini, kullu. You can explore GHNP ONLY BY FOOT. Either you can do a day hike to the entry gate of GHNP . You dont need any permission till the entry gate. If you want to go further you will have to get permission from the SAIROPA office just a couple of km before gushaini and you will also have to hire local guides to take you in the park. Without these gou cant visite GHNP legally. I was accompanied by the local guide Named Surrendra negi AKA Sanju negi and his team. Really the best of guides. They chagre you around 2500-4000 a day as the will be carrying your stuff ,tents, cooking ware, food stock n all the necessary stuff, and cook for you. Here are the details in case you want to contact them- SANJU NEGI-09418240710, VIRENDER NEGI(brother and a fantastic cook) 08628070022.

Date of experience: March 2016
11  Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Himalayan National Park also viewed

Kullu, Kullu District
Mandi, Mandi District
 
Kullu, Kullu District
 

Been to Great Himalayan National Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing