We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food made it worthwhile!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food made it worthwhile!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Positives:
1. Ideal for those who wish to be away from the hustle bustle of the market place.
2. The Food was a part of our package (hence already paid for) but they would cater to us like our "personal Maharaj" getting the three of us huge serving portions of our individual dishes (we had to tell them the following day to reduce the serving size so that we wouldn't waste food) and it was very good food too. Steer clear of the fancy dishes, the desi is lip-smacking. I don't reco the coffee though (It had malai and I invariably needed to call for the strainer).
3. The Tree House & swing sets are a joy! The Garden is beautifully maintained. It's so much fun and picnic-y to be taking your meals in the lawn (especially when the weather is pleasantly chilly).
4. Helpful staff (but thats true of Himachalis per se)
Negatives:
1. It looks better from the outside than from the inside. It's sorta old and worn out inside (its got paint in place of polish on the wood) and when we got there on Day 1 we were thinking we had paid too much! But then the place sorta grows on you. So mebe you shouldn't stay here if you are only putting up for a night but then who puts up only for a night in Dalhousie! :D
2. The Bathrooms are neat and clean but nothing fancy and a little worse for wear. We had a 'suite' and of the two bathrooms, one didn't have a geyser but I was travelling single with my parents so it didn't matter much. The dustbin in the room wasn't cleaned and had something stickin on it but it didn't crawl ;-)
3. Don't go here with OLD people. Since it is perched on the hill side, there's a bit of a climb which might not be feasible for old/ knee trouble people since there's no lift and you gotcha walk it up.
4. The Passage is small (tiny) so God help you if you have noisy neighbours!
5. The extra bedding was a mattress (not a bed) for which they initially got only half a bedsheet but once we asked them, they changed it.
6. It doesn't have Air conditioners but even in May, we didn't miss them given that Dalhousie temps are comfy.

Frankly, though my list of Negatives reads longer I defi reco this place especially if ur getting it for around 3-4K a night and even more so if you are a large group (minus old people).

Room Tip: I guess higher the better - but mind it, there better not be any peeping toms on that tree house! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachanaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I went to Dalhousie in April, 2011. I had booked rooms in Alps Resort. The resort is about 3 kms away from the main market. The rooms were spacious but were ok in terms of interiors and amenities.

The highlight of the resort is the garden which has beautiful flowers. You can sit in the tables laid outside and order your coffee. The staff service was excellent and food was delicious. The rooms were good value for money.

The reception staff was also polite.

There is just one nuisance factor and that is the big dog that they have in cage at the back. It goes on barking continuously when he sees anyone new and will not stop barking till the person is gone from his sight.

Overall a very good place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namastecitytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

It was a good experience staying in this Hotel for the following reasons :-

1). Location - This hotel is about 2.5 km on way from Dalhouisie to Khajjiar so it is nice and quite.
2). Staff - Very helpful staff, treats all with a lot of respect.
3). Open Air Restaurant - Very nice to sit in the open and enjoy the food.
4). Food - Very fresh food, we stayed for 3 nights and only ate in this hotel and none of us ever had a stomach problem !!!!!!! Please remember to tell the staff to put ''LESS SALT''
5). Cost - We went at the peak of the season but found the prices looked very nominal and not jacked up !!!!
6). Grocery Shop : There is a grocery shop just 2 buildings away from the hotel so very convenient in case you have forgotten anything !!!!!

Room Tip: 1). Room No 101 to 107 are fairly new constructed. 2). If you are a couple with grown up kids ( abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwaniship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Recently stayed in Alps resort in Dalhousie (16 May to 19 May2011) with extended family with children. I think this is the best hotel in Dalhousie especially for a family with children. With their beautiful garden, well maintained lawn, tree house, swings and most importantly best view of entire Dalhousie and mountains- nobody wants to leave the garden. My doughter practically spent whole day playing in the garden or in tree house. (temp being pleasant ) We also had all our dinners and B/F in the garden.
As far as roms are concerned they are clean, functional and cosy. Bathroom was clean with hot water etc.
Service was superb! The waiter with long mustache seems to be hovering near us whenever we needed to order something. Menu was short but tasty. One can have his food either in room or restaurant or garden.
The resort have their own spacious parking( which is a rarity in Dalhousie- being a hilly area)
In all best hotel in Dalhousie for family holiday.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms r adjacent to Lawn.(room 101 to 107)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandarjoshi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We opted this hotel for its off beaten location as our day to day life revolves around crowd so we wanted our trip to be hassle free and views from hotel shuld be of beautiful landscapes which ALPS has it all !

I recomment to opt for Its super deluxe rooms at 1st floor which is more airy and has scope for coming sunrays inside ur room.. Food is really good but must remember to give orders on time to have more taste added in it. Staff is good and prompt.
I just felt more finishing can be done at attached BATHROOMS...when we went it was an off season so may be some renovation is been taken place as it was going on at that time too.
Over all i like the location where ALPS RESORT is located near Dalhosie Public School

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumud8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditya1, Owner at Alps Resort Dalhousie, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Dear Ma'am,

Thanks for your response. Genuine feedback from esteemed guests like you helps us to improve upon our services. Also we would be further improving the quality of our rooms. Looking forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
2.0 km away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.6 km away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
1.4 km away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#11 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.4 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
0.7 km away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#7 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alps Resort Dalhousie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alps Resort Dalhousie

Property: Alps Resort Dalhousie
Address: Bakrotta Hills, Dalhousie 176304, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 4,844
Hotel Class:3 star — Alps Resort Dalhousie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alps Resort is a hotel in Dalhousie which offers budget accommodation to our discerning traveler. Definitely one of best places to stay in Dalhousie, while on your holiday or vacation. Modern and renovated rooms with a secure environment, along with multi-cuisine restaurant make Alps Resort an ideal destination amongst Dalhousie accommodation. However, what makes it unique is the location. It's far from the noise of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Alps Resort Dalhousie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alps Resort Dalhousie Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing