We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manimahesh-HPTDC
Nearby Hotels
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand View Hotel(Dalhousie)
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 132
US$ 118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 94
US$ 79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$ 122
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel President(Dalhousie)
US$ 68
US$ 56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sagrika Resort(Dalhousie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mount View(Dalhousie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
28
63
25
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
63
25
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus standgovernment run hoteldeluxe double beddirect viewhotel is locatedgandhi chowkmountain rangetaxi operatorsmenu cardplace to staygreat valley viewbudget hotelbalcony attachedsnow cladquality of foodroom heaterheating system
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The Manimahesh hotel in Dalhousie is situated very near the taxi stand and Tourist Information Center. Which makes it very comfortable when you want to plan your site seeing tours. The rooms are big, clean and well maintained. They offer a good view of the Himalayas.

The food is fairly good though you wont get many options here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mihir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Manimahesh Hotel is located in a quiet part of Dalhousie, near the DFO's residence and the YHAI, overlooking the forested valley and the military cantonment.

The room that we stayed in was tastefully done up with wood panelling and had excellent views of the Pir Panjal range and of the Chamba Kailash peak in the distance.

That is where the good part ends.

Service was terrible, so unlike the excellent, warm service we experienced at the many other HPTDC hotels we stayed at on this trip.

Our room at the Manimahesh was booked on the phone by the Manager at HPTDC's Iravati Hotel in Chamba. We could hear the conversation on the other end, right at that time itself, the reservations clerk at the Manimahesh had an attitude problem as though he was doing a great big favour by accepting the reservation - eventually it turned out that we were one of the only two occupants that day!

When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in with indifference by the receptionist. The porter was courteous however, and the room was more than comfortable.

The menu card had quite a decent variety of cuisines on offer and as we were quite sick of regular Indian hotel food by that time, we asked for some of the continental items. The room service person did not even understand what we were asking for. Eventually he said abruptly in Hindi - Is time mein yeh sub cheezein nahi milenge - At this time, none of these items are available! So we had no choice but to order standard Indian fare.

Worse was to come. The food was stodgy and chapathis turned out to be leather like in texture. Rotis are standard fare in North India, everyone but everyone knows how to make them well. It was inconceivable that any hotel in Himachal Pradesh could dish up such monstrosities. We returned the food half uneaten and swore never to eat there again.

When we complained, the manager lamely said that there was a staff shortage. If that was the case, why were they charging full rates? Even the tea served was luke warm.

For the rest of our stay, we ate at the dhaba at the end of the road, much tastier, fresh and piping hot food. Though we could have stayed an extra day at Dalhousie, we cut short our visit and moved out thanks to the attitude of the Manimahesh staff.

When we checked out, we pointed out an obvious mistake in the bill. The person at reception agreed there was a mistake but the room service man started to rudely argue about it. Eventually the receptionist prevailed but the atmosphere was spoilt.

On this Himachal visit, we stayed at six different HPTDC properties. At all of them except for the Manimahesh, the service was excellent.

HPTDC needs to get its act together fast at the Manimahesh if it wants to retain its overall good image.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Named after the adobe of Lord Shiva, Mount Kailash-Manimahesh (5656m) visible from Dalhouise, is a modern hotel with all amenities. This deluxe hotel offers commanding view of snow-clad ranges and plains.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noidaNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had to stay at Manimahesh as we did booking in the last minute. The location is nice and we chose the new rooms (Quite expensive) as older rooms were not that good. The new room was very good with stunning views of Pir Pinjal mountain range. Room service was very prompt and food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Just after my marriage I went to dalhousie. The location of the hotel is very good, you can see the snow covered mountains outside your window.The rooms are very spacious. The staff , food was very good and they served in very disciplined manner

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyBhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews