We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manimahesh-HPTDC
Ranked #2 of 44 Dalhousie B&B and Inns
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

The Manimahesh hotel in Dalhousie is situated very near the taxi stand and Tourist Information Center. Which makes it very comfortable when you want to plan your site seeing tours. The rooms are big, clean and well maintained. They offer a good view of the Himalayas.

The food is fairly good though you wont get many options here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    53
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
286 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Manimahesh Hotel is located in a quiet part of Dalhousie, near the DFO's residence and the YHAI, overlooking the forested valley and the military cantonment.

The room that we stayed in was tastefully done up with wood panelling and had excellent views of the Pir Panjal range and of the Chamba Kailash peak in the distance.

That is where the good part ends.

Service was terrible, so unlike the excellent, warm service we experienced at the many other HPTDC hotels we stayed at on this trip.

Our room at the Manimahesh was booked on the phone by the Manager at HPTDC's Iravati Hotel in Chamba. We could hear the conversation on the other end, right at that time itself, the reservations clerk at the Manimahesh had an attitude problem as though he was doing a great big favour by accepting the reservation - eventually it turned out that we were one of the only two occupants that day!

When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in with indifference by the receptionist. The porter was courteous however, and the room was more than comfortable.

The menu card had quite a decent variety of cuisines on offer and as we were quite sick of regular Indian hotel food by that time, we asked for some of the continental items. The room service person did not even understand what we were asking for. Eventually he said abruptly in Hindi - Is time mein yeh sub cheezein nahi milenge - At this time, none of these items are available! So we had no choice but to order standard Indian fare.

Worse was to come. The food was stodgy and chapathis turned out to be leather like in texture. Rotis are standard fare in North India, everyone but everyone knows how to make them well. It was inconceivable that any hotel in Himachal Pradesh could dish up such monstrosities. We returned the food half uneaten and swore never to eat there again.

When we complained, the manager lamely said that there was a staff shortage. If that was the case, why were they charging full rates? Even the tea served was luke warm.

For the rest of our stay, we ate at the dhaba at the end of the road, much tastier, fresh and piping hot food. Though we could have stayed an extra day at Dalhousie, we cut short our visit and moved out thanks to the attitude of the Manimahesh staff.

When we checked out, we pointed out an obvious mistake in the bill. The person at reception agreed there was a mistake but the room service man started to rudely argue about it. Eventually the receptionist prevailed but the atmosphere was spoilt.

On this Himachal visit, we stayed at six different HPTDC properties. At all of them except for the Manimahesh, the service was excellent.

HPTDC needs to get its act together fast at the Manimahesh if it wants to retain its overall good image.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dalhousie hotels

noida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Named after the adobe of Lord Shiva, Mount Kailash-Manimahesh (5656m) visible from Dalhouise, is a modern hotel with all amenities. This deluxe hotel offers commanding view of snow-clad ranges and plains.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noidaNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had to stay at Manimahesh as we did booking in the last minute. The location is nice and we chose the new rooms (Quite expensive) as older rooms were not that good. The new room was very good with stunning views of Pir Pinjal mountain range. Room service was very prompt and food was good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Just after my marriage I went to dalhousie. The location of the hotel is very good, you can see the snow covered mountains outside your window.The rooms are very spacious. The staff , food was very good and they served in very disciplined manner

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.4 km away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.9 km away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.8 km away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
1.5 km away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 km away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manimahesh-HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manimahesh-HPTDC

Property: The Manimahesh-HPTDC
Address: Near Bus Stand, Dalhousie 176304, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Dalhousie
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,568 - ₹ 5,522
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Manimahesh-HPTDC Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing