We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Mongas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mongas
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We,my wife & I, stayed at Monga's for 3N/4D. The location,right next to Gandhi Chowk, the 'happening' place in Dalhousie,was perfect. Our room on the top floor called `the attic' was
tastefully done - wood panelled, Samsung LCD, a divan with cushions and a fantastic view of
the snowclad mountains. Room service, courtesy Mr.Mukesh, was prompt and unobtrusive. Bed tea, breakfast and dinner were served hot and right on the requested time. The owners Mr Karan
Monga and his wife were always available and sorted out the initial niggles in no time at all.
It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at the `Attic' and recommend it highly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsvohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a stay in this hotel for 2 nights & 3 Days with family. the staff is good room service is good & the rooms are very good. they have to improve the bathroom facilities & warm water for bath.we have face difficulties in this area. but over all very very good hotel to stay

vasant prajapati

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasant172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were in Dalhousie in Last week of march'12. Mongas provided us fabulous hospitality. We stayed their of 5 days. Mr. Karan Monga planned our sight seing as per our interest. Mr & Mrs. Monga were very caring. The staff too was very co operative. On our request they cooked us food of our choice. The Born fire and DJ in the chilling night was like icing on the cake. The view of the valley from the rooms was just mind blowing.
An experience of a life time. Thanks Mr. Monga

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nasircity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

just before few days we had visited hotel mongas, It is very nearer to market and all staff is
very cooperative nature. Very good management understanding. we saw many hotels in Delhousie but this was the best among them.

Room Tip: if you are in a family of 4 people then family room or suite would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I was in touch with Karan for about a month prior to our visit to Dalhousie. To be honest Hotel Mongas was not our first choice. I was compelled to book this hotel as our preffered one was completely sold out.

The package he quoted for 2 nights/3 days along with travel for 3 days was fantastic. It was too tempting to be overlooked. So I lapped it up inspite of some negative comments mentioned earlier.

We reached Pathankot in the morning and the car was right there to pick us up. The driver, Veer Vikram Singh (Vicky - 09888447896) was the best part of our deal. Never met such an enthusiastic, honest and reliable guy ever in my life. Not to mention the fact that he is an accomplished driver too. Very friendly and was with us for 3 days. Highly recommended.

Upon reaching the hotel got two rude shocks:

1) We were given an average room inspite of Karan assuring me to give the best.

2) Asked for milk separately while ordering tea, which was rudely negated.

I had to call Karan and he immediately swung into action. We were moved to Room 401, supposedly the best in the property and the waiter was barred from servicing us during our stay. Commendable.

Room was big with a private balcony overlooking the hills. But be careful of monkey menace as they snatched away our food bag in a whimper. We opted for MHAI package, hence the breakfast and dinner was part of the package. Nothing to write about, but not too bad either. However, we didn't like them to charge us separately (Rs 400 for 2 nights) for the room heater as it should have been part of the package or should have been mentioned very clearly that we need to pay them separately, which was not.

The location is good as it is very close to the main chowk. But besides a market, there's nothing much in the main chowk. If you love nature, then this one is surely not for you. Lot of construction work happening at present, hence be careful of the noise.

Lastly, my endevor of meeting Karan was not successful as I realised that he was unwell. Maybe we next time around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Srimanta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
1.2 km away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 36 in Dalhousie
1,786 reviews
0.6 km away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
127 reviews
1.1 km away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
156 reviews
1.0 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
1.3 km away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 36 in Dalhousie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mongas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mongas

Address: The Mall, Gandhi Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: ₹ 2,789 - ₹ 6,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mongas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover yourself in the serene mountains of Dalhousie at the Mongas; one of the cleanest Indian hill stations. Mongas, thoughtfully appointed in the lap of nature yet in close proximity to The Mall, lets you take in the bounties of mother earth in a relaxing and leisurely atmosphere. Stay at Hotel Mongas, Dalhousie, is Ideal for those who just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Mongas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mongas Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing