We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad hotel, rude manager”
Review of Monal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monal Hotel
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad hotel, rude manager”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had booked 2 rooms in this hotel for my brother and his family. Due to some error the money transfer could not materialize but the clerk Rajat mahajan who was corresponding and talking on phone assured till his family reached Pathankot that rooms would be made available and that money could be paid on arrival or transferred on Monday. But the family reached dalhousie the same man changed tracks and refused to give room. He was rude and unapologetic.He had apparently sold the room to higher bidder! such honesty. Long way to go Monal!! My brother was ready to pay in cash but the man's greed knew no bound! steer clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumarnirmal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    21
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

me and a couple of friends of mine stayed at Hotel Monal for 3 days, we booked online and got a amazing deal. We booked the Super deluxe room, which was tastefully furnished but the biggest incentive was the amazing view of the snow clad mountain. We overall had a nice time.

Room Tip: book super deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank johnkalaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed there for three nights and booked the accommodation and some sightseeing together paying 50% advance. We reached Dalhousie by Bus, then took a porter to reach hotel via Subhash Chowk. This stretch was very long and we became tiresome but later we found that the hotel is very near (3-4min walking distance) from the Gandhi Chowk. The markets are very near. Still the hotel is at very good quiet location having very good view of valley. Most of the rooms have private balconies where you can take your tea and breakfast in Sunlight.
The entrance of the hotel is about 25-30Ft down from the road and the approach road is very steep, so it's not recommended for aged or heart patients, otherwise it's a good value for money.
Management and stuffs are good but they need to be a little more professional. Most of the time, nobody was present in the reception, though they used to take the phone calls while calling from room. They didn't make any entry in the registrar for our stay.
There is no restaurant, food is served in room. Some extension work is in progress probably they'll make some restaurant in near future. Food served is mainly veg with only egg items as non-veg. But they can bring other non-veg items from outside hotel on request.
There is some other hotels at the Thandi sarak side from where you can view the snow-capped peerpanjal ranjes, so those hotels are definitely better but this hotel is no doubt good for comfortable stay at Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Approach the hotel from Gandhi Chowk side. One room in each floor have views of two sides of the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveller_Ambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Me and my family went there in summer vacations. This hotel was near the bustand so we choosed to stay here. The location of the hotel was really heavenly. If we wont have stayed here we would have missed the beautiful scenery and the warm and cozy rooms with delicious and homely food

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhardwajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A budget hotel that provides value for money and good home like food.

The staff is hospitable and provides good service. We got a room that was close to staircase and there was movement all night for 2 nights as guests were checking in late night/early morning.

Location is a bit steep but overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler_Frequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
99 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#30 of 36 in Dalhousie
40 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Dalhousie Heights
Hotel Dalhousie Heights
#19 of 36 in Dalhousie
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#23 of 36 in Dalhousie
91 reviews
1.3 km away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
116 reviews
2.2 km away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#12 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monal Hotel

Property: Monal Hotel
Address: Garam Sarak, The Mall | Distt. Chamba, Dalhousie 176304, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,642 - ₹ 3,351
Hotel Class:2 star — Monal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Monal Hotel Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing