We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small resort in jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small resort in jungle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This place is 15 km or so out of Guwahati. We were put up here for one night as part of a tour. It's a smallish place with a swimming pool & some other activities. The staff are not used to foreign tourists & rather poorly trained. There is a veranda where we were able to get gin & soft drinks, and they even had a bottle of Indian red wine to go with our dinner. Dinner was very good, including duck curry, difficult to find in India. However, the room was not clean, and worse, when we went to retire late in the evening, we discovered the bed linen was dirty. We resorted to sleeping on top of the bed cover. The room did have a ceiling fan & ac (which we don't use). There was hot water in the bathroom, together with eccentric Indian plumbing. I complained to the owner about the room the next day, receiving no apology except being offered a complimentary glass of fruit juice. I can't think of any reason to stay here really.

Room Tip: Stay at a good hotel in Guwahati instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajendratripathi, Owner at Brahmaputra Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I had personally visited the room of the guest next morning to enquire about his comfort without knowing his problems. There was definitely a big short coming and I apologise for that. Infact I have put my personal mobile no. prominently in all rooms with a note that 'the owner can be contacted at any time for any problem'. Everyday, every moment we strive for improvement and we welcome criticisms from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    44
    30
    7
    11
See reviews for
77
31
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I visited the so called Resort in August with my family. The rooms are dirty, smelly or may be the most horrible experience you can think of. The food was pathetic. Not a great place to go for. The linel, towels are unhygenic..gives you a feeling that not washed at all. The food is OK bu the cleaniness of table, plates, glasses is horribe. The remains of the food fom the lunch were still lying on the table.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somaksarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I booked this hotel for a family vacation seeing some good reviews in this forum and I regretted it after my trip.

This place is far off from Guwahati city (45 kms from the airport), in the middle of a jungle off the highway. The property is unkempt - probably to give you the feel of a "jungle". The staff include unprofessional youth who have no idea what "service" means. While our room was average in cleanliness and comfort, the room service was below expectation. Only positive thing we remember is that we had some good Assamese food that we normally don't get in our city.

This hotel also organized a car with driver for me to move around and that was another atrocious experience. The driver spoke foul language that would shame truck drivers. And during our city site-seeing tour when I asked him to take us to a shop that sold Asam silk, his retort was "how am I supposed to know where it is?" :-( :-( :-(. We got another driver next day but I was not happy with him either.

I believe this is a place for companies in Guwahati for conducting their off-site business meetings and trainings. It is not for travellers. Purely personal opinion from what I saw and felt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArindamDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I visited the so called Resort on 6th August with my family. The rooms are dirty, smelly or may be the most horrible experience you can think of. The food was horrible. The swimming pool was fill with some kind of chemical, chlorine I suppose. I payed for 1 night but could not stand for more than 2 hours and left for Guwahati. Guys don,t go by good reviews this place is not worth even trying.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The location of the hotel is nice --really good.

However the rooms are very shabby and unclean. The linel, towels are unhygenic..gives you a feeling that not washed at all. The food is OK bu the cleaniness of table, plates, glasses is horribe. The remains of the food fom the lunch were still lying on the table when we went there for dinner.

The service also is OK bu the staff has no trianing at all of cleanliness and basic mannerism.

We ran away after one night though we had planned a stay of two nights.

I will not recommend it to anybody..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMRPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
11.6 km away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
15.4 km away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#22 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#7 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
22.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
16.8 km away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#3 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brahmaputra Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brahmaputra Jungle Resort

Property: Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Address: Near Laxmi Bai Institute Of Physical Education Kamarkushi Amching Jorabad Road Tapesia,NH - 37 | Tapesia Kamrup(Metro), Guwahati 782402, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guwahati
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,930 - ₹ 2,830
Hotel Class:3 star — Brahmaputra Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a 3 star jungle resort with lot of exciting activities like trekking, bird-watching,repelling, swimming, elephant & pony ride, archery, shooting, angling, boating, dart games, children park. In addition is a restaurant cum bar serving multi-cuisine delicious food, specially local cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your Brahmaputra Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort Guwahati, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing