We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Pragati Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pragati Manor
Ranked #10 of 95 Guwahati B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel located in a very good location. Over all service is also good.Price little higher side, but quite competitive with other hotel in this standard. Food price is in higher side. Also the complementary breakfast needs more variety. No. of rooms in the hotel is very less, hence get reservation is some what tough in season time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Pragati Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel was booked by my office during my visit to Guwahati in November 2011. The structure of the hotel is quite imposing and maintenance of the exterior is also up to the mark. As you enter the hotel you will find that the lobby is also quite impressive. Check in was smooth.

The rooms are nothing much to write about, just like normal business hotels, not too large nor too small. Decor was also OK but they have a CRT TV which is a bit old fashioned.

Now the strangest part. Complimentary breakfast buffet is usually available in the restaurant but one day the authorities rented out the restaurant for some function and when I went there for breakfast I was told to have it in my room. I wasted 40 mins for my breakfast to arrive and was late for office that day. The hotel authorities could have informed guests in advance to order breakfast from room service thereby saving a great deal of time.

The menu card given in the rooms is not updated with the current rates and prices. I had ordered ice cream which was mentioned as INR 75, but when the bill arrived it was charged at INR 150. When I pointed this out someone came and told me that earlier they used to serve the Amul brand but now they had upgraded to Baskin Robbins as per MDs wish, hence the change in rates. The same person took away the menu card and returned it after some time where I found that the price had been manually altered to INR 150.

If you have a choice search for a few other hotels as I believe that for INR 2000+ per day, there are far better options available in Guwahati.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel rooms are very bad Housekeeping service. The hotel room is horrible one can not stay in such hotel. Even when you talk to the staff for such bad services / dirty room they also agree that the hotel management is not taking proper interest in upkeep of rooms. Even when you try to contact senior persons they try to avoid you to attend to you.

Highlights :-
Dirty rooms;
Not cleaned before alloting to Guest;
You only need to guide the staff on how to clean the room
Location of AC is horrible
Bathroom fittings are broken

Room Tip: Just dont even try to book this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish_from_Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is my first trip to guwhati and i team has made booking in pragati manor.

The hotel is nicely located with small rooms and with LCD And ac in room, Food quality was good and i has nice dinner in room.

But bad start tomorrow, it was found hot water was a problem- s this was cold , i called to house keeping and i was told it will b taken care, but not done for 30 Minutes , i complained again a was assured to send person immediately>>> but not done

at last i called to reception and asked for Manager but was not available and ,i have request for no. and complained for Service issue-I was told to get this repaired in next
>>>> But not done

It is shame for such a senior person while called next time and understood that he has not spoken to any of Hotel staff member about problem in my room

the tragic part i discover after 2 Hours us 1 Gyser is for 2 Rooms and operating switch is on another room>>>>Worst services in i have seen in this hotel and totally non customer centric attitude by senior staff memebr

Room Tip: Better to stay another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-k-Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

A typical business hotel and good for your official trips. Located in centre of the city with access to all the major markets. The rooms are good, but basic. and the staff are also very well mannered. Food has limited varieties. Please book your rooms in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morbi24aug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
4.9 km away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 63 in Guwahati
205 reviews
5.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#2 of 63 in Guwahati
442 reviews
10.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 63 in Guwahati
171 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
#10 of 63 in Guwahati
175 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 63 in Guwahati
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pragati Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pragati Manor

Address: G.S Road | Christian Basti, Guwahati 781005, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Guwahati
Price Range: ₹ 4,564 - ₹ 7,328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pragati Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Northeast , maintaining high standard of hygiene , refreshment and well appointed 42 rooms and suits in the heart of city and near to official minutes from Railway station this contemporary yet comfortable central Guwahati will serve as your gateway to the capital’s best . Following a substantial investment, our modern and bright lobby and corporate rooms afford premier accommodation to the experienced business traveler, while our enviable location near world-famous culture and architectural landmarks will delight our leisure guests. Our great Pragati Manor hotel accommodation gives you everything you need under one roof affordable guestrooms , excellent restaurants , and flexible conference facilities all come together in one unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pragati Manor Guwahati, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing