We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, needs improvement on cleanliness”
Review of Hotel Nakshatra

Hotel Nakshatra
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nakshatra
Ranked #17 of 94 Guwahati B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Average hotel, needs improvement on cleanliness”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel is average. The rooms are ok in terms of size and functionality. But the biggest improvement required is in the area of cleanliness. The rooms are relatively clean, with the bedsheets usable. However, you are advised to carry your own towels, you just don't want to use the hotel towels. Also, coackroaches were keeping company during breakfast! Not a very pretty sight to start the day. Breakfast is below average; food at dinner was surprisingly good. The hotel has a small cluttered gym.
If there is preference, this hotel is best avoided, only for its cleanliness; if they improve it, it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
4
4
5
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I stayed here first on May 2009 and then again on May 2010. In both occasions I found the place pleasant.
pluses:
+) stupendous complementary breakfast, from 7 to 11 am, choler bhatura, idli, mixed veg, tea, oatmeal, vermicelli with milk, cakes and parties, good fruit selection, eggs made to order
+) room is clean, bedsheets clean, AC works.
+) bathroom is clean and has the required amenities: hot water (electric heater, takes a few minutes to heat up the water, so don't assume you'll have hot water immediately), has a western style toilet with toilet tissue as well as an interesting looking hand-held faucet that I assume can be used to enhance personal hygiene Indian style, along with a tap and a mug for holding water for those wishing to stick to the a more traditional technique.
+) TV works, there is also a small refrigerator but I didn't use it so don't know if it works or not.
+) the hotel has a workout room, not too large, and the equipment in it was limited (only one treadmill), but it is there. When I walked in the room was stuffy since the AC was not running. I didn't check if it was simply switched off since no one was using it or was is not working.
+) The restaurant and bar in the hotel is good. I tried a few snacks and had a few beer in it in 2009 May, and the price/quality ratio was satisfactory.

minuses:
1) wireless internet exists but doesn't work inside the room. Only when I stood out in the hallway were I able to connect. even then not very fast
2) towel in the bathroom looked worn out - did not smell but it did look like it was of questionable cleanliness

This hotel also has a good location, right next to the Beltola tini-ali. I paid Rs 2350 with taxes per night for a good sized room with two beds. I haven't stayed in any other hotel in Guwahati, so I can;t compare with others, but I did stay in a hotel in New Delhi (hotel international inn near the airport). Comapred to the hotel in Delhi, which charged me Rs 2000/- this was way better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prabirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian in the EU
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Too noisy from the road below. Could hardly sleep at night. Also the food was horrible. The chowmein was full of chillies and although I am Indian and used to hot food, this was too much for me.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utpal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

chennai. India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I have in the past stayed in couple of other Hotels in Guwahati apart from Nakshatra. For the first time, I stayed for two nights in May10 and was pleasantly surprised. The Hotel room is compact, comfortable with a split Air conditioner but works well. Bed is quite comfortabel, a LCD TV on the wall and a very clean and functional bathroom. The shower curtain and not the shower glass cubicle results in water being splashed all over but that is fine if the bathroom is used by just one person. The food in the only restaurant at the lobby level is very good- tried the chinese and it was good. Very pleasant staff, good service and of course awesome free wireless internet all over the hotel. Value for money and if they choose to improve the bathroom, it will be the best place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai Indian
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
303 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

A small boutique hotel---nice looking.
Very friendly staff---from reception to rooom service.Very courteous and service oriented.

Good food and compact rooms--well furnished.

Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.6 km away
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
#19 of 61 in Guwahati
31 reviews
8.8 km away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 61 in Guwahati
183 reviews
3.2 km away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#8 of 61 in Guwahati
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#6 of 61 in Guwahati
124 reviews
1.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#2 of 61 in Guwahati
408 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
#10 of 61 in Guwahati
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nakshatra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nakshatra

Property: Hotel Nakshatra
Address: Beltola, Opp Shankardev Netralaya, Guwahati 781028, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Guwahati
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,158 - ₹ 5,350
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nakshatra 3*
Also Known As:
Hotel Nakshatra Guwahati, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing