We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a nice location but with average food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed 21 May 2012

If one wants to close by river Brahmaputra, surely this is the best in town. However not all the rooms are river facing, naturally. The food is average - well that is something if you always want to stay on indoor supply. The restaurant has an elaborate menu card but you may not always have what you may choose to order. Given the fact that it is government owned, the professional approach in service may be minimum.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurajitSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days with my family in April 2012. It was really a great stay. The rooms were very clean, spacious and the river view was awesome...! Breakfast / dinner was good and the staff was very cordial. The traditional welcome was touching. It is really a value for your money....!

Room Tip: Do get a riverside room....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReporterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Brahmaputra Ashok is a part of the government owned Ashok chain of hotels, located close to other prominent government buildings in Guwahati, like the High Court and Circuit House. Though the USP of this hotel is that it is close to the Brahmaputra river, one cannot get much of a view of this magnificent river since the hotel is not very high and is flanked by other buildings which block the view.

The rooms are decent with a faint old world charm. The wooden floor is nice for walking barefoot. The bathrooms are small and the toiletries do not inspire much confidence.

There is a small restaurant, whose ambience is like the dining hall of a typical club. The food also appears to have come from a club kitchen – fresh, spicy and reasonably priced. However, the service is quite sluggish – not suitable for anyone in a hurry!

There is a bar adjacent to the restaurant. There is also a disco, which is active only on Saturdays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Assam to me is synonym to Brahmaputra and tea gardens. So, when I got an opportunity to visit Assam for an Official trip- i decided to stay in a hotel which offered me river view. Some research on net and I froze on this Property. Made a personal call and ensure I get a river view room.

Located at prime place in city with good accesibility. Got a warm welcome with a tradition hat and muffler ( somewhat). The rooms were clean. You cant expect more in a city like Guwahati. If you get to stay here, do try variants to tea. Breakfast was reasonably good though a little slow service.

Food its OK. I am not a foody btw. Rest everything great. Value for Money.

The only problem I faced was they didnot accept my Amex Card. Probably the guys at Front desk could do a better job.

Over all- Highly recommended. While you stay here, make sure to take a stroll on Brahmaputra river side early in Morning....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Location is great right on the banks of the Brahmaputra. Also centrally located for shopping in Guwahati. Our expectations were raised with the warm traditional Assamese welcome. The room was strictly okay. Spacious but tired looking. Also room service is too slow. The hotel could be much better if they renovate the rooms and spruce it up.However our airport drop was pretty efficiently arranged which sort of made up for the disappointing rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
9.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
16.5 km away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 67 in Guwahati
173 reviews
9.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 67 in Guwahati
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#2 of 67 in Guwahati
217 reviews
8.1 km away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 67 in Guwahati
377 reviews
3.8 km away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#7 of 67 in Guwahati
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brahamputra Ashok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brahamputra Ashok

Address: M.G. Road, Guwahati 781001, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: ₹ 3,750 - ₹ 10,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brahamputra Ashok 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brahmaputra Ashok is a chain unit of the Ashok group of hotels. The hotel is centrally located on MG Road, Guwahati. For the past 23 years, it has served as the gateway to the Guwahati & northeast region. All 50 rooms are well furnished and newly renovated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok Guwahati, Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing