We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SeaShell, Havelock
Nearby Hotels
Barefoot at Havelock(Havelock Island)
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa(Havelock Island)
US$ 472
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Munjoh Ocean Resort(Havelock Island)
US$ 204
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 78
US$ 56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral Reef Resort(Havelock Island)
US$ 177
US$ 139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Sand Beach Resort(Havelock Island)
US$ 131
US$ 111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wild Orchid(Havelock Island)
US$ 67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jalakara(Havelock Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
301
220
52
11
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
220
52
11
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba divingurban tadkaprivate beachswimming poolrocky beachcoconut treesneil islandport blairbeautiful propertyandaman lagoonin househot watercandle light dinnerthe cottagessea shellsbreakfast spreadlow tide
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at sea shell havelock for 2 days. Its a really nice resort. Staff there is really nice made every effort to make our stay comfortable. Restaurant serves good food and servers are very friendly (Specially Mr. Deepankar).

Room Tip: Chalet rooms are nice and lowest priced. Booking directly gives more flexibility with checkout time.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel Categorization, location and rooms -

Well almost all the resorts on this small island are on one beach or the other. Sea Shell is the closest to the harbor (1 km), the small market (1 km) and is on beach 2. Beach 2 looks more like a small private beach where you will not have outside crowd barring the resort guests. So we have our space there. The resort as such is a perfect place to unwind, to de-stress. With tall coconut trees spanning the entire resort, it’s very pleasant out there barring the risk of a coconut falling once in a while. We took the Andaman Lagoon, the most spacious room type in the resort and we did well with our decision. The other rooms (Chalets and Villas) are quite small and may not fit well if you are a family and like space on a leisure holiday. The rooms are simple with minimum provisions. You have a TV, AC, Fan, Coffee Maker. No hot water if you are not a kid or an aged person. (Anyways, you may not need it). No Intercom facility. This hurts a bit when for every request you have to walk to the reception, though the distances are not huge.

Hotel Staff Attitude -

The staff was very cordial. Especially the front office and the restaurant staff with whom we interacted. They always had a smile on face. We were there at this place on 4/11 when the Tsunami alert was raised and the hotel staff did not fail to reassure us that we are safe. They never panicked though they did not know what they would do if at all tsunami came. However, the resort is near shallow waters and there is a hill overlooking the resort. Just in case tsunami strikes, the hill will bear the brunt of the force and the shallow waters will kill the wave. So not much to worry. This was an enlightening piece of information provided by the resort manager. And it felt logical. This information might help those who are worried about another earth quake and tsunami. :)

Food -

Food was great. Having gone with our son, all of 6 years but full of tantrums when coming to food, we got what we ordered for the way we wanted it. We stayed there for 2 days and enjoyed every meal we had there. Complimentary breakfast did not have the range of spread we are used to in big hotels in big cities but it was good and manageable. They serve coconut water for drinks in the breakfast. That was different and refreshing. We like it a lot. All kinds of cuisine are available. I guess food at sea shell must be one of best on the island as we saw lots of groups coming in to the hotel only for food. The staff was also very accommodative with the customized requests we made. Since the island’s only mode of transport is by sea, at times you may not have a few things on the menu for want of the raw material. I wouldn’t complain, though. Constraints are there everywhere.

Basic Facilities -

For entertainment, if one is looking for something other than beaches, there is an indoor play area where they have a carom board. Other than that the entire resort is a place to have fun as our son proved it. We played cricket, he ran all over the place, played with sand and made merry.
Laundry facility is absent.

Final Remark -

I guess all the resorts must be the same on the island, facilities wise, but if food is a concern, then Sea Shell is a safe bet. Plus its proximity to the market and jetty can add in a few points in its favor.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space go for Lagoon.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vamsi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

In april 2012, we visited port blair and havelock island. Seashell resort in havelock is a wonderful place to stay if you are interested in peaceful holidays.
The hotel is very good, at sea side. You can enjoy both high and low tide of sea from here.
Hotel is having cottages, big cottages and duplex cottage. We stayed in duplex cottage no 127. It was just wonderful. Staff is very good and food is excellent (Indian food ).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank puneet265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were there for 4 days in Havelock @ Seashell... One of the very good resorts which serve veg food. It has an amazing Bar just in centre of coconut trees and 50m from GovindNagar beach. (It has very good diving points but the beach is scaled).
Very good service (although hot water is not available... I don't think hot water is required at all because of humidity and temp around 28-29 C), infact they planned the trip for entire four days and also arranged for Scuba diving @Barefoot which was more fun.
Major advantage is its vegetarian cuisine... paneer was fresh like the fish we get there.
Right from the receiving us from Havelock pier till dropping us, it was very good experience overall.

Room Tip: It is better to get their normal rooms (where you need not get down for using washrooms), but if you want quiet and pleasant room, select nicobarese type hut which is duplex type.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and me stayed in Sea Shell at Haveloc Island during last week of February 2012. This was our honeymoon trip. The resort is well maintained with private seaside ( I wont call it a beach ) and lots of coconut trees. We were given welcome drinks (coconut water ) on arrival. We opted for Andaman Lagoon rooms which are bigger in size (compared to Chalet ) and offer more privacy as they are located little away from main resort. Room was well maintained and cosy. I would recommend lagoon/chalet rather than Villas. I found it little disadvantageous to have washroom at ground floor ( room in first floor ) especially if you have female members. The resort has a nice restaurant (sans room service) and open Bar. We had tried both Indian and Chinese at the restaurant which we found tasty and service was acceptable. Bar offers cocktails, mocktails as well as array of sea food platters (limited in options but tasty and reasonably priced ). We found front desk people helpful (arranged sea side dinner table for us on request ) and courteous. I would recommend this resort and would love to visit the place once again.

Lastly our local tour guide Mr.Abdul (Holiday In Waves ) perfectly planned the whole Andaman Trip. Heartiest thanks to him.

Like: Sea front, rooms, restaurant, Bar , staffs
Dislike : My wife was scared by presence of 3-4 stray dogs inside the resort premises.

Room Tip: Chalet or Lagoo. Not the Villas
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sayan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews