We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay - rehab needed and is in progress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #55 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent stay - rehab needed and is in progress”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed one night here while relocation to Columbus. The hotel is in need of a makeover, and it is clear that the makeover is in progress. The hotel is in a great, safe location right downtown. The beds are extremely AWESOME and the room was clean; just needs a fresh coat of touch-up paint.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    173
    96
    44
    30
See reviews for
72
107
20
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Part of a point of getting a hotel is getting a good nights rest. Part of the hotel is under renovation and the noise of the construction woke us up. Then the cleaning lady repeatedly knocked on our door at 9am. Very disappointing. You would think they would know we had not checked out yet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this property for two nights from April 2-4 while we were in Columbus visiting COSI and other Columbus attractions with our 2 kids.

Having stayed here several times when the property was a Hyatt, we knew that this was a decent hotel in a convenient location. However, the Hyatt property was very dated, the lobby restaurant was terrible, and service was average.

This was our first stay since the property converted to a Sheraton last Fall. The new owners are making some fantastic changes to make this hotel truly a 4 star property. With these upgrades, improved customer service, and the outstanding location, this will be one of the best choices for luxury accomodations in downtown Columbus. Be aware, though, that the remodeling is in progress so there is some noise during the day and not all rooms have yet been renovated.

We booked the hotel using Priceline. Although room requests are not guaranteed when booking through Priceline, we were able to get the room we wanted since the hotel was a little slow during the 2 nights of our stay.

The room renovations are outstanding. The color scheme in our room was sleek grays, blacks, and browns. The furniture, beds/bedding, television, bath vanity, lighting, closets, bath fixtures all appeared to be new and beautiful. The desk chair and easy chair were very comfortable. I don't believe the bath tubs/showers have changed other than new shower curtains. One of the great things about this property is that the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. In the renovated rooms, the combination of the room size and new contemporary furnishings makes for a luxurious experience.

The carpet in the hallways received a much needed replacement and create a bright and vibrant ambience. The Hyatt hall carpets were dark and in disrepair.

We found the cleanliness of the rooms to be quite good. I actually briefly observed the housekeeping staff cleaning the room next to ours and they were doing an extremely thorough job.

Sheraton is redesigning the front desk area and is either eliminating or completely changing the lobby restaurant, which was a disgrace under Hyatt.

We found the staff to be extremely warm and helpful during our entire stay. This included the bell boys, front desk staff, 2nd floor restaurant staff, and housekeeping. One lady at the front desk was particularly helpful and spent about 20 minutes with us providing maps and information on things to do and places to eat that were kid friendly.

There are only a few negatives worth mentioning.

As with most downtown hotels, parking can be expensive and a logistical challenge. We parked in the public parking lot under the statehouse right across the street for about $12/day. This is half the hotel valet parking rate and took only 3 minutes or so to walk from our car to the hotel. If we had a lot of luggage, this would have been less convenient.

The sound-proofing between rooms is very poor. My wife was kept up until 2 am one night by two guests talking in the room next to ours.

While the beds are very comfortable, the sheets weren't quite as soft and high quality as the Westins, for example.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel when staying in downtown Columbus!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was generally pleased with the whole experience. WORD OF WARNING: they are renovating, so make sure to ask if they are finished or be prepared for a short menu at the restaurant without much seating. There are actually quite a few restaurants close by, so be sure to talk to the concierge. Also, ask for the discount valet parking, we got ours for only $10.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taradubois917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Be sure to get an already renovated room. Was large, comfortable and new. A bit on the dark side and no full length mirror. Good room service. No minibar, but single serve coffee maker. Great location if you have business at Capitol.

Room Tip: Make sure it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.5 km away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
0.5 km away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.8 km away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#41 of 143 in Columbus
203 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 75 E State St, Columbus, OH 43215-4203 (Formerly Hyatt on Capitol Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,091 - ₹ 21,728
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square is near Ohio Statehouse, OSU, German Village and the Theatre and Arena Districts. We have 16,500 sq ft of meeting/event space and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Columbus
Columbus Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing