We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We are biased towards Marriot. You know you have a very good chance of a great experience. This gem of a hotel is located in an interesting part of Columbus. The hotel staff was warm and very welcoming. The rooms are thoughtfully laid out and well designed. It makes for a very comfortable stay. Other reviews have addressed the fact that this was a bank that has been converted to a Residence Inn. They didn't mention that you enter the former bank vault for a very nice hot buffet breakfast which is included in the price of the room. We brought our dog along with us and she was welcomed with dog biscuits. We did have to pay a $75.00 "sanitation" fee which is a bit excessive compared to other places that allow pets. (HINT-Try the "Tip Top" across the street for good pub food and craft beers. Friendly staff and modest prices.) We will definately be back and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Flo S,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    106
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
69
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

So, for starters, this is a really interesting building to stay in. It's an old bank that they have converted, and it's been done well, with the exception of the entrance area, where a lot of the old teller counters have been left (you can't walk up to them though) and they look scruffy. The check-in area is off to the side of that, and is nice enough, but I feel they could have done more.

The rooms are all excellent though. Because it's converted from a different business, the rooms tend to be interesting configurations (I've not stayed in 2 rooms alike yet), though they are all spacious and useable. As with all Residence Inns there is a decent kitchen, so if you're on business travel, you can enjoy something other than just restaurant food.

There is a fitness centre (actually just a room) that only really has cardio equipment. It really isn't well equipped, and while they have arrangements for you to be able to use a nearby gym for free, they clearly have the space in the building for a decent fitness centre, and I've marked them down a little for that.

I also mark them down a little for the fact that the staff just aren't that friendly. They all seem like they are just going through the motions.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
PaulMJohnson,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

What an awesome concept. The hotel is in an old 1927 bank with an absolutely huge lobby with 40 foot ceilings. The breakfast buffet is in the old safe! So cool. Once you get to the rooms, they are the cookie cutter Residence inn rooms, but are very nice and comfortable. They have old brass window frames, too. Nice views. Be mindful of your drapes when changing clothes, people can see you in your room, even high up. Just saying.

Room Tip: The hotel only offers valet parking. Free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulliver4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Gulliver4u,
Thank you for your review. We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.
Yours truly,
Becky Krieger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at your hotel and I was very impressed with the service I received upon entering the hotel. Your front desk clerk Daniel was so welcoming, and really made my late-night check-in a breeze. I wish there were more employees like him around at other Marriott locations.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rchaudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Rchaudhry,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing Daniel, it made his day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Robert Kennedy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a great building and the room was exceedingly comfortable. The room had a convenience kitchen, abundant work/conversation space and a very comfortable bed and bath area.

Customer service was excellent. I was greeted as soon as I entered, check in was immediate. I called for ice while I waited for the ice maker in my fridge and I had ice delivered right to my door - at 11 p.m. - within just a couple of minutes.

I was staying here only for one night for business, but could definitely make this my go to place for a future trip of much longer length.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karamonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 km away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 km away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#31 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Address: 36 E Gay St, Columbus, OH 43215-3108
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,114 - ₹ 18,274
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbus Downtown hotel offers contemporary all-suite accommodations in the exquisitely renovated Historic Buckeye Building. This high-rise hotel in Downtown Columbus will impress you from the moment you arrive with the lobby's soaring 40-foot ceiling. Specializing in extended-stays, our Columbus hotel features newly renovated, spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, living and work areas, luxury bedding and free Wi-Fi. In the morning, indulge in a variety of healthy and hearty favorites from our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. During downtime, work up a sweat in our state-of-the-art fitness center featuring free weights and cardio equipment with TV screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing