We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll keep coming back-”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll keep coming back-”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As far as Bed and Breakfasts go- this one is a joy, not just from the accommodations, but the neighborhood keeps getting better. So many fun places within walking distance that are outstanding. Katzingers for a deli, Lindy's, Barcelona, Thurman Cafe etc for dinner-
There is the book loft- for disappearing in stacks of books-
the patisserie - Pistacia Vera is awesome.
But- the GVGH is still the star. The rooms are quiet, well fitted, the communal spaces wonderful, and the garden (which we've never had time to enjoy) is very nice.
You don't see much of the hosts- but, they've left you a book on the community, complete with a DVD about the neighborhood.
Great place to escape the bustle and just hunker down to relax.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 2 of the three rooms- both in the front. Prefer downstairs 1- to upstairs (I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MondoCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
184
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Amazingly relaxing! When I told my boyfriend we were staying at a B&B he shuddered at the thoughts of rose bush-print duvets and lace curtains. Not here! Modern, crisp, comfortable. He's a huge fan and has already recommended to others. Also, dreamy beds. We plan on writing the owner to get the make and model.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERHODES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

GV guest house has a nice common area with a gas fireplace, cozy couches and lengthy dining table for breakfast. The selection of food is also good with fresh cookies available for an evening snack and plenty of juice and water in the fridge. The room itself was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and spacious tiled bath. Ideally the TV could have been bigger and the tree out front would not have splattered the car with gummy droppings that were difficult to clean.

Room Tip: the bath in Room 1 is apparently the most spacious. It is also the only room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Better than ANY hotel I have ever stayed at - even the Columbus Hilton. Clean; beautifully decorated; quiet; private; luxurious accommodations! Best overnight experience I ever had - I felt like I was staying at the private house of a best friend. I will definately come back AND tell everyone I know to book a night or weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. It is a charming Bed and Breakfast. Very quiet room with comfortable bed. Continental breakfast waiting for you in the kitchen the next morning. We think this is the best kept secret in Columbus, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBuckeye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.8 km away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#105 of 143 in Columbus
81 reviews
6.8 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
616 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#85 of 143 in Columbus
193 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
2.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Property: German Village Guest House
Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,275 - ₹ 17,718
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing