We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
cleveland oh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“totally relaxing”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

besides totally relaxing, the german village guest house is such a convenient place from which to launch your columbus visit. Since it is located right in one of the city's main tourist attractions, one can grab a map of German village and spend a day walking the area and enjoying the many restaurants, coffee shops land specialty shops in the area. The free parking - in a quite safe area - (my daughter lives nearby) and ability to use your vehicle without negotiating a parking garage or valet assistant, makes the cost of the room more affordable. There is even a Giant Eagle grocery store nearby if you wish to put together a lunch or picnic which you could enjoy at the new city park on West Whittier St.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maschisoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
184
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Such a nice place to stay. We enjoyed the balcony and the guest house throughly. Secretly we three getaway moms wanted to stay MUCH longer. This B and B didn't miss a thing. No better place to stay in my opinion!
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband & I drove to Columbus, OH, for a quick getaway & spent the night of Sept. 3rd at the German Village Guest House. I'd done my homework & read several reviews of this place, so I had high expectations. From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt welcomed. The common areas & our room were beautifully decorated. Jazz played softly on a CD player. A tray with a pitcher of iced tea & glasses, & cupcakes in a covered glass holder waited on the kitchen counter, along with any number of snacks in a generously sized basket. We also could have made coffee or hot tea, & there was fruit available in a bowl on the dining table. We had Room #1 on the first floor, which contained a queen bed, flat screen TV on a dresser, table on each side of the bed, & its own bathroom. Given the ample shower with tiled floor & stone-tiled walls & bench, plus adjustable showerhead with great water pressure, the bathroom had a spa feel to it. Oh, & the whole place was immaculate! We'd already eaten supper, so we unpacked, helped ourselves to iced tea, & explored the lovely garden & sitting areas out back. There's a fireplace outside for cool evenings with a couple Adirondack chairs in front of it & a separate sitting area under a pergola. It was still fairly hot & humid outside, so we relaxed in the living room (which has a wood-burning (I think) fireplace with lighting instructions displayed on the mantle). Darci, the proprietress, came in to drop off more fruit & introduced herself but didn't hover. We retired to our room to watch a very interesting video on German VIllage & then a movie my husband selected. Even though our room was at the front of the house (2 more rooms upstairs), we got a restful night's sleep. Someone brought in breakfast around 7:30 & set up everything in the kitchen. We opted to get breakfast first & had our choice of a selection of fruit (mixed berries, plums, cantaloupe, 2 kinds of grapes, plus the bananas & apples on the dining table), hard-boiled eggs, a delicious banana-nut bread, 4 types of cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, or 4 different bottled juices. We relaxed in the room for a while before showering & packing. Checkout time was noon & we didn't feel at all pressured to leave any earlier than we did. We loved it there & wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms plus 2 suites. If you want a specific room, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saturngirl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My sisters and I purchased a night at the German Village Guest House for my little sister on her wedding night as a wedding gift. Although I didn't have the opportunity to experience this B&B first hand, i can tell you that my sister and her new husband were THRILLED! They called to give us all the little details. They were primarily impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail. She said "Everything looks like it was painted yesterday! It's soooo perfect!". They raved about the garden, and enjoyed their breakfast together in a beautiful setting. This was a PERFECT choice for their wedding night. I was very pleased with the customer service, and interactions with the reservations etc. I hope I will have the opportunity to stay here some time as well!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eksacce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The German Village Guest House is a great place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, the house immaculate, with a beautiful garden in the rear of the house.
The owner was very accommodating.

Room Tip: We had room #3 and it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.8 km away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#105 of 143 in Columbus
81 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#84 of 143 in Columbus
193 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
617 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#63 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
2.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Property: German Village Guest House
Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,301 - ₹ 17,759
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing