We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most, but STILL a Holiday Inn Express...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Ranked #42 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than most, but STILL a Holiday Inn Express...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here during a visit with family, and had high hopes after reading some reviews. Ended up feeling very mixed about the place. I'd prefer to give this a 2 and a half stars, but there isn't an option for that.

First, it is very new and so it's fresh and decorated trendily. The beds were comfortable. The pool area is better than many hotel pools with it's water slides and play areas. BUT...

My sink drained very slowly so I was always trying to rinse it out because who wants to look at spit-out toothpaste? Weird for such a new hotel to have plumbing issues. They talk about step-in showers which I was wanting to try, but they are only in the king rooms.

The pool was very cold - I only stayed in briefly. If you want to compete with a Great Wolf Lodge, keep it as warm as one. The large water slide was closed half of the day - why? You have no lifeguards anyway, so what's the difference? On that note - it's not the best idea to have all of the pool extras with no supervision. There were many older kids being reckless on the slides and no-one to monitor them. An injury or lawsuit waiting to happen. Both the pool deck and the pool bottom were VERY slippery, and I saw several falls that were NOT from running. I felt this was a safety concern and by the end I just wanted out of the pool area!

We stayed two nights and on the second day we come back to the room to relax before dinner and our room still hadn't been cleaned - at 3:30! After check-in time! We had to call for service and wait in the lobby so they could do their work - VERY aggravating.

Breakfast was adequate, esp. since it was free. But nothing to write home about. Mylene was working both mornings and was very friendly and you could tell she was both a good worker and good with customer service.

Not sure I'd stay here again, especially since the area has many other choices. PLUS this was very expensive for a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Go over the highway for MANY food options plus the Polaris Fashion Place mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisgrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    79
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
145
45
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed there last month and will be every other month for meetings in Columbus. I was upgraded to a double queen suite on a dice roll. The room was really nice and roomy. It was very, very clean. They have a water park like feature (great for families) and a decent exercise room.Plenty of parking and shopping, eating out. Easy location right off the major freeway. Continental breakfast was nice. Overall, it's a nice place! I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The staff was super pleasant, very polite! Excellent location, gorgeous hotel, super clean, great hot breakfast, very affordable! Will definitely be staying here again next time we are in the area. If you have kids and want to stay at an affordable hotel with all of the amenities of a luxury hotel then this is the place for you! Our girls are 9 & 7, they loved this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkinnear, Management Company representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Sara,
I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites enough to share your experiences online! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return so that your girls can enjoy the indoor water recreation area again!
Warm Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip and enjoyed the stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I especially enjoyed the Managers reception on Wednesday night and playing Wii bowling with Manager Alex Settlemire. He had arranged food and refreshments for the event and it was a fun way to spend our last night at the hotel. Extremely clean room and have recommended to my co-workers to stay here when we're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWB-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkinnear, Management Company representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear GWB-12,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review of the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much you've referred us to your coworkers! We look forward to your return!
Kindest Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The staff was exceptionally friendly, the place was very clean and had cool glam decor and that's what counts most. The breakfast bar was missing most hot items but coffee and muffins were plentiful. The pool was ice cold and very loud with kids' water features splashing and making an awful noise. Kids were disappointed that the water slide was closed and they couldn't use the water features because the water was just too cold.

The location is ok if you like chain restaurants.Every single chain restaurant is represented near this hotel. Hard to find anything unique or special to eat and mall traffic is heavy but the hotel staff made it all ok. They were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkinnear, Management Company representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Saranette,
Thank you for your recent stay at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with the breakfast food supply and the pool temperature. I will take your comments to our staff so that we can review the level of hot food we are preparing and ensure that our pool heaters are working as they should. I also apologize for the disappointment in the slide being closed. We do have a lifeguard on duty on Friday evening, all day Saturday and Sunday morning and it is only during those times that we open our 29' water slide, for the safety of our guests. I do hope that you give us another try, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Warmest Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.9 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
21.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
14.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Address: 8670 Orion Pl, Columbus, OH 43240-4030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Columbus
#18 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,362 - ₹ 14,473
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway Hotel Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing