We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross and terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds
Ranked #112 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 8 September 2017

went here a few times because it was close to what i needed to to be and was cheap. The staff is terrible about communication so i was overcharged twice on two separate occasions. bounced my bank account both times so i was stuck out of town with no money thanks to there carelessness TWICE. it was impossible to communicate with the staff. This last stay i got woke up by pounding on my door from the manager saying that i needed to get out because checkout was at 11. Well i had two nights so they woke me up, drug me to the front desk in my PJS for nothing. I was not really amused. i was less amused when i saw that she charged my debit card twice when she shouldn't have charged it at all resulting in a NSF fee from my bank.

The room itself is OK. not great. the tv dosnt work very well but the bed and wifi are passable. My room smelled like dog pee and the bathroom was gross. i had not been clean one of the times since there was hair all over it and wet towels and the guy looked at me like i was nuts wanting the shower to be cleaned. I just didnt shower that trip.

If you go here pay cash, your own water and some bleach. or just avoid like im doing for the rest of my time here. awful service.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cougar2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel. I think this hotel needs total renovation.
Bathroom tub had rusts, sink had multiple cracks and continuous dripping faucet.
Check-in and out personnel were okay.
Not sure if they had complimentary breakfast, because I checked out at the crack of dawn.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank 575traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I can't believe Trip Advisor endorses this place. The pics posted online look like a totally different place. It is so rundown, and disgusting, falling apart outside. In dire need of maintenance, remodeling and cleaning! Hoped I didn't get some disease. Did not sleep good - Very questionable neighborhood - wondered if my car would still be there in the morning. Only good thing was the Mexican restaurant across the street - delicious. Will not be trusting any Trip Advisor endorsed places in the future.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank avmtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagpalN, Owner at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Sorry for your inconvenience sir but we have started construction on the exterior of our property and I would like to invite you to come and see the finished product in the coming few weeks, we are doing new landscaping,painting,etc. there will be a huge difference. Also our room are newly renovated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Also stayed here 1 year ago ,same time period and nothing has improved. Outside maintenance terrible. Weeds and trash everywhere.Automatic door at top of HC ramp hasnt worked for a year.Main entrance door works fine but has 3 steps to enter. Handrails at both doors have been cut off and not replaced. Ice mach.still leaks water onto motel floor as a year ago. Day clerk nice but late night guy is useless.Only cold coffee that brewed all night. Room was clean ,everything worked in it. Internet was good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JagpalN, Owner at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Sorry for your inconvenience but I would like to let you know that I am the new owner and would like for you to come and see the property in the coming few weeks we have started construction on the outside and I can promise you that there will be a lot of changes in the coming future and we are working to further improve this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

As of the day of my visit, the hotel had been under new management for 2 days. We had absolutely no complaints during our stay. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean and everyone I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is also located in a very central location, great for visiting downtown. This hotel is nothing fancy, but it works great for a weekend trip. We will stay here again if we come back to town.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank brittanymiller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - North
3.0 km away
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
#98 of 144 in Columbus
35 reviews
3.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus North I - 270
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#79 of 144 in Columbus
323 reviews
18.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#77 of 144 in Columbus
130 reviews
1.0 km away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#114 of 144 in Columbus
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds

Address: 1221 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-3301
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: ₹ 4,494 - ₹ 5,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what exciting event or attraction brings you to Columbus, your room at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds will be your personal retreat. Free WiFi,in-room coffee makers, hairdryer, and microfridge are just some of the amenities offered for your enjoyment. We also offer free local and long distance calling within your guestroom. Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds offers easy access to interstates 71 and 270, and is conveniently located near OSU, The Ohio State Fairgrounds and great shopping at Easton Town Center and Polaris Mall. Other near attractions are the Columbus Crew Stadium, along with the Columbus Zoo. A credit card is required at the time of check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing