We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“almost perfect but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“almost perfect but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a great hotel due to its location, decor, and great staff. I did encounter one issue on my first night that sould not happen at a 5 star hotel. I do understand this is a historic building and they are working to update the heating cooling system. After checking in a went to my room to relax from my flight freshen up before heading the fisrt event. When I got to the room it was hot and humid. It could not get the air to come on nor could I even get a fan to blow without the heat on too. I was able to open the windows about 12 inches. The room decor was nice, it was clean, did have some sloppy maintenance work in the bathroom with caulk and paint but not a big issue. As I was leaving I stopped by the front desk, told them I could not figure out how to get the air on. They then told me and I quote "I'm sorry but we are in the middle of updateing up heating and cooling, your room only has one setting, heat." Then she continues to tell me that I can cool the room by opening the window, or she could try and move me to an inside room but I would still not have AC but those room tend to stay coolar. I had an issue of leaving my window open as I did want to come back to room full of insects or pigoens (no screens), there was no need to move to another hot room and didnt have time. I ask for a fan which they did place in my room. I did sleep with my window open and the fan made it comfortable, but then the morning traffic noise and helicopters did not allow me to sleep in.

I would stay here again if I knew I was not going to have HVAC issues. The location is really good, the train from the airport ends under the hotel and they are also connected to the city center. You actually never have to step a foot outside from the airport to your room. The city center again you dont have to step a foot outside to go there as they are connected, it has movie theater, entire shopping mall, a Hardrock Cafe and many other eating places. The ritz also connects into the same city center. Walking around the Hotel is safe and clean with lots of nice bars, shops and eating places.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the updated heating and air system
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRICHESON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    369
    206
    102
    46
See reviews for
161
275
55
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

You know it's a Marriott so my expectations usually are that I want it clean, roomy and a convenient location. It manages all three and I thought the value was good. Had a nice view of the lake. The lobby is beautiful with space to relax. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is very old, and despite their best efforts (you can tell they're tried, which is why my rating is not lower), it shows. The rooms are tiny and do not have most of the basic amenities you'd expect from any hotel, let alone a Renaissance. The temperature in the room had to be nearly 80 degrees and nothing could be done to change it. Also, their parking situation is poorly communicated. I parked in a lot next door (per their suggestion) instead of the garage, but once the weekend started a gate was put up and I could only exit through the garage, where they did not believe I had paid each day at the lot machine. No one ever mentioned the lot could not be parked in on the weekend beforehand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

OUTSTANDING!! If you love historic hotels, you will love Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. This place is outstanding. The rooms are updated and they are updating them even more. The rooms are very spacious. The hotel is convenient to everything. It is a part of the Tower City complex. The staff is extremely friendly! You match their attitude with the outstanding atmosphere, you have an award winning combination. The hallways are very roomy. The decor reminds me of the golden days of traveling with fancy chandeliers and tasteful decor. The lobby is HUGE! This hotel is a true gem in Cleveland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacklbarnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Beautiful renovated hotel within walking distance of great restaurants, mass transit and the ball park. Check out the Sans Souci restaurant in the hotel. The food and service is outstanding. I will make this hotel my regular stay for business.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.5 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.5 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.7 km away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Property: Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,777 - ₹ 17,734
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing