We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and classy in a great location, but be warned of sticker shock.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Location – The hotel is located in Public Square, which is a great location for most things you may be in Cleveland for; Jacobs Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena and theater district are all within 10 minutes walking distance. If you are coming from I-90, you are just 5 minutes away once you exit. If you want to use public transport, many buses leave from the square. You can walk to the next door mall (Tower City Center) without going outside. A note of caution if you are staying on a weekend – breakfast options outside the hotel within walking distance are very limited.

Check-in – We were here for a conference, so things were busy, but they were staffed adequately, and we were checked in quickly and correctly. They had even laid on cookies and cider at the reception desk and made a point of alerting us to them. The concierge was also very quick to offer any assistance.

Room – We got a city view (actually a view of the hotel across the street) on the 12th floor, and it was a big room. There was a fridge and coffee maker by the door with its own sink, a walk in closet and the desk was a good distance from the bed. Coffee was provided as was a very nice selection of teas. The bathroom had a tub, two sinks and a separate shower and had a nice classic tile. It was a bit draft though, and there was a constant draft coming out of the door frame! Bed was comfortable, but there was no alternative to the standard hotel squishy pillow. Hi-speed net access is available, but during our stay, only at the desk via Ethernet. Connection speeds were fast though.

Restaurant – We had the breakfast buffet at the Sans Souci restaurant. The food was pretty good, but be warned that it is a bit pricey for basic breakfast. The upside is the décor and atmosphere is pretty nice.

Amenities – There is a parking garage attached to the hotel, but it is not free. For Cleveland in November I was surprised at how expensive it was ($35/night). The fitness center is pretty impressive and goes above the usual hotel fare of a couple dusty old ellipticals and a couple of dumbbells, having ellipticals, treadmills, bikes, benches, weights and a cable station. There is a sizable indoor pool.

Check-out – This was quick and efficient as check-in and we our bill was correct.

We were very pleased with the room and the amenities, but the cost of both the room and the parking may cause us to shop around next time.

Room Tip: Get a city view - otherwise you will be overlooking the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 929 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent a Friday night in this classic hotel on Public Square. The Square was filled with Christmas lights, however rain kept us from being able to go out. The hotel's connection to the Terminal Tower allowed us to do some window shopping in the mall area and check out the Christmas displays there.

There is attached indoor parking. The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, we were greeted by all of the staff we saw. My wife had left a shopping bag in the lobby bar and the security staff had it for us the next morning.

The public areas are classical with wide open halls and a gorgeous lobby and Italian marble fountain.There is a heated pool in the large covered atrium, we did not use it.

Our room was on the outside, large and quiet. The bed was a pillow-top and there was a mixture of pillows.

We found this hotel to be a classic lady being close to 100 yrs old and the staff makes your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Have stayed here many times but this trip was special. My wife and I took our 15 year old daughter and her best friend into Cleveland for the day. We visited the rock hall before checking into the hotel. We arrived @ 2pm well before the 4pm checkin. Not only were our rooms ready, but they upgraded one of our rooms to a suite that was beautiful. The second room connected off the suite (and made the kids jealous!). Each and every person on the staff we encountered was outstanding and made us feel special.

The hotel itself is so elegant and historic. Don't get me wrong I love newer modern hotels but there is something really cool about the older places. All the marble and fountains and wood work is great. The hotel was very clean and tidy, the beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms were large and well stocked with all you could need.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctownhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Wonderful historic property in the heart of downtown Cleveland. Excellent for doing business with Sherwin-Williams or Key Bank as they are easy walks. Close to good restaurants and nightlife and short walk to the Cleveland Indians ballpark. Great staff with beautiful lobby!

Pros - great for business or events
Cons - rooms are a bit dated and could use some refreshing while still keeping the historic aspect.

Not good for families.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

From the moment you walk into the lobby, you are treated with warmth, this is a wonderful hotel. The room was beautiful, well appointed and the beds incredibly comfortable. All of the staff were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and warm. My friends' and I had dinner at a local restaurant and spent the night here. Stay here two or three times a year. Have tried other places, never again. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Always ask where your room is located, I try to ask for the Atrium view rooms, or the Public Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 km away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.4 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: ₹ 8,054 - ₹ 19,973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing