We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lola Bistro & Wine Bar

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,832 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The food was great, our waiter was wonderful too. He made excellent recommendations based on our questions.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    248
    104
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Been to the Rest, Lola is Still the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We've been fans of Michael and Liz Symon since 1995. Before the "new" Lola opened around 6 years ago, the original Lola in Tremont had reinvented itself, redecorated and redsigned as Lolita, with most of the same great staff and a more Mediterranean menu reflecting Michael's family roots. Where Lolita remained the familiar cozy and intimate neighborhood restaurant frequented by "neighbors" from all over Northeast Ohio, Lola on East 4th became a destination restaurant representative of the highest hopes of the resurgence of downtown Cleveland. Lolita's tiny open kitchen requires chefs to bump into and dance around each other as diners marvel at the teamwork. Lola was designed as a much larger space with ample room for a state-of-the-art kitchen where high-energy cooking is done by a huge team. However, during the renovation of Lolita at the corner of Literary and Professor Streets, the upstairs was transformed into a thoroughly contemporary space equipped as a film studio to support Michael's growing career as a star of the Food Network. Then came the opening of Bar Symon in Avon Lake, and the casual burger and beer B Spots in Woodmere, Strongsville and Westlake, and soon in Cuyahoga Falls. And there was his New York City venue Parea, and Roast in Detroit (only one we haven't been to). All evidence of an expanding empire in spite of this very tough economy. Through all these years, Michael and Liz have attracted chefs, wait staff, managers and bar staff who maintain highest quality for customers.
On our most recent visit to Lola, even though it's been about 4 months since our last visit, we were greeted as old friends by general manager Jude, servers Kristen and Gina (neither of whom were working our table), and bartender A.J.
And once again, we enjoyed a meal that caused my wife to say, "That's the best duck I've ever experienced," and me to wish we could visit more often.
There are several fine restaurants in Cleveland, but I can't help thinking that the others feel driven to rise to the standards of the Symon team.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We were really looking forward going here as we watch the Food Network quite a bit. We were a bit disappointed after my wife's steak came out cold! They got it right after she sent it back. The place is way cool. I'm sure we'll try it again if we are back in town.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTLigonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“High Expectations--Met with Ease”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

A very knowledgeable server guided us through good choices. Having just moved to the Cleveland area, I have gotten lots of adivice about what to order at Lola. Everyone has a favorite and everyone is right. The food is Iron Chef worthy. The halibut was maybe the best we have had anywhere. The signature pork chop was better than I thought a pork chop could be. The presentation was elegant, but not pretention. Comfortable for a wide variety of diners, young old, dates, groups of friends, families. The perfect place to go. Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah60968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We were in Cleveland for one night and when I realized that Michael Symon had a restaurant I knew we had to go. We each had three courses and they were all fabulous. The waiter was great because he not only knew the food but also about the chef. Everything was perfect.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank echoryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lola Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing