We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
503
119
62
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
119
62
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar dog park adega restaurant bank vault glass shower trendy hotel mini bar king suite sitting area bachelorette party playhouse square night life progressive field cavs game room key beautiful hotel valet service
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Let’s number the differences ...
1. A glass shower in the middle of the room. Not appropriate for children.
2. The usual complementary products that accompany your room were not a complete set.
3. We had to call housekeeping to have our room cleaned because they hadn’t cleaned the room by 4PM. And even then the complementary shampoo and other products were not replaced. Nor was the Kleenex or TP.
4. The outlets in the room are scarce. Only one side of the bed has an outlet. This is a brand new hotel??
5. Don’t even think about touching anything in the refrigerator.. Even if you don’t use but you picked it up to look at it. The front desk computer will show that you used it and charge it to your room bill.
6. The roof top bar isn’t open in inclement weather.
7. The lounge on 2nd floor ran out of wine and champagne by 11PM on a Friday night. And it would have taken 45 min. to have ordered and served hamburgers.
7a. Keep in mind the “stage” where the drag queens perform is next door... don’t be surprised if one of them sits down next to you and takes your hand in theirs!!
8. The front desk clerks were very friendly and courteous!
9. Valet. While friendly and working fastidiously were unable to keep up. Where does one begin with this chaotic mess. The valet area is far too small to handle the number of guests and there are not enough employees working the valet. When I call down for my car and I’m told 15 minutes the first day and 30 minutes wait as we checked out.
*10. The Adega restaurant was fabulous!! As were the hostess and wait staff.
11. The elevator system is unique.
12. The hotel’s location is nicely placed on 9th St. And next to an amazing grocery store.

I’ll not waste my money at this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WkCation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

WkCation,

Thank you for the very detailed review of your stay. I have shared your feedback with the team. We do apologize for any shortcomings and we hope to see you again.

Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We attended a family wedding on site at this hotel. Everything was amazing, the wedding on the rooftop, the cocktail hour in the vault, the food at the reception, the service at the front desk, even our room.

Parking was a little challenging, we passed up the hotel when we first arrived. Be aware that this hotel is also open as a bar to locals and is quite popular. After a certain time, you have to have a room key to get into guest room areas. Elevators could be a little confusing but eventually you figure it out.

There was not a refrigerator available in our room for us to put anything into. The minibar is weight based so adding anything and the removing it will result in fees.

Our room was on the front corner and there was a lot of neighborhood noise and construction noise.

Walking distance to see a football or baseball game or go to the Rock & Roll HOF.

Our room had a glass shower pretty much in the middle of the room. Even though this room had 2 full beds, it seemed geared toward a couple.

I would stay here again but probably not with children.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Barb W,

Thank you for the nice review of your stay. We appreciate hosting weddings and creating lifelong memories. Thank you for choosing us and we appreciate your patronage.

Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Great location, stylish rooms and public areas. Suites on upper floors are spacious and luxurious. Very close to Playhouse Square, 4th Street, Progressive Field and Quicken Loans Arena. Interesting dining and drinking options.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank getoffthegrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

getofthegrid,

Thank you for the glowing review. Great to learn that you enjoyed the 9 with friends. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

I have been staying at the 9 for over a year now, and this could arguably be one of the best Marriott properties. From the beautiful history of the former bank to the modern contemporary styling of the hotel. The staff, Lindsay, Michael, Heather, Stephanie, Shalae, and Teddy do their absolute best to make every stay as enjoyable as possible. If you’re traveling to Cleveland, I would highly encourage you to consider this property for your stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dshannon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

dshannon,

Thank you for the great team recognition and we are so happy to have you as a regular guest. We look forward to another year!

Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

1. No desk! They did provide a rolling desk but I had to use a regular chair that was not comfortable or meant for working at a desk. Thought this was odd..even Motel 6 has a desk!
No reading lights for when you are in bed. There are two overhead lights over the bed but can only be turned on or off on one side of the bed. Not very well laid out.
The shower is in the middle of the room.
Went to eat breakfast at their restaurant. The hostess was doing something on her phone. After standing in front of her for over 45 seconds she finally said, "you want to sit down?" Focused more on her phone.
Doubt if I am a return customer.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank DouglasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny D, General Manager at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Douglas C,

My apologies for the opportunities presented during your visit. I have shared your feedback with the team as we are always striving to improve our guests' experience.

Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews