We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Will stay again, Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will stay again, Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Location excellent close to the Q and other attractions. $14 daily parking fees includes multiple in/out

Staff could be more friendly.

Breakfast was good. Bacon could be crisper :) Place was clean. No pool. Rooms were clean. No Fridge or Microwave in the room. Did not check if we could request one. Guess we have got so used to assuming these are standard that we overlooked to ask at the time of booking. They matched the online rate when we called the hotel.

Would I stay again? Yes !

Room Tip: We did not use the Internet nor had time to really use any of the facilities. so can't say much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I am truly glad you had an enjoyable stay. Our location is awesome. We have been open for 43 days as of today and our staff is still training. I apologize that we did not seem friendlier and will bring this up to our next Front Desk meeting which is this Friday. Please give us another opportunity to share our warm hospitality.

Thanks so much and see you again soon!!!

Hope Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    344
    111
    30
    38
See reviews for
206
356
41
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Don't get me wrong...the location is really good...that's the best part. The hotel is located in what could be a very beautiful historic building and has recently been remodelled. Rooms are really large, but, sadly, the renovation and design lacked attention to details. For example: windows are still very old and painted shut, finishes were fairly low-end (tile in bathroom appeared to be older, falling off in places), painting was sloppy, granite countertop had a sticky construction residue, walls were quite bare, no lights within reaching distance of the bed. When we arrived at 7:30pm, we were put in a room that had no radio or phone in the room. Since we needed to be somewhere, we were told to see the front desk staff when we returned to receive the keys to our new room. We returned at about 11:30 pm. There was one staff person at the front desk. One. No security staff, just ONE lone older woman (who, might I add was terrific, but I felt so sorry for her). She attempted to reach her security guard who did not respond. Ultimately, we were upgraded to a room with a spa tub. (Does anyone really use those things?!) Our stay was just okay. First night was quiet, second night there were people yelling/fighting in the hall. Breakfast was okay, I guess. Not sure if I would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terralight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for writing a response. Please let us show you the work we have recently completed with attention to detail. Our lamps arrived late from the manufacturer so we recently put in bedside lamps and new clock radios. We are working diligently trying to clean off paint spots. We have been open now 43 days and things keep getting better and better.

We would to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Hope Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband & I stayed here July 6, 2012. We chose this hotel for the convenience to the Quicken Loan Arena for a concert, as well as close, safe walking distance to The Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame. Check in was a little confusing. We arrived at 1:00 PM and were told to come back after 3:00 PM for check in so we parked our car and walked around. When we arrived back at 4:15 PM we were told to have a seat in their lounge and wait to see if our room was ready. This was a bit of a burden since we wanted to check in, freshen up and have dinner before the 7:00 PM show. The young gentleman(I believe his name was AJ) that checked us in was pleasant and patient even though it was congested and many people checking in at the same time, and it was not his fault that the communication about what rooms were ready was obviously not given to him. He apologized for the wait and in the end everything did work out.
Another group waiting with us said the did not have such a nice experience when trying to check in with their lady.
We finally got our room at 5:00 PM so we were a bit rushed, but the room was very nice and clean. The elevators in this hotel are the smallest I have ever seen and you do have to wait a while even though there are 3. The bed was extremely comfortable which was nice after a full day of driving, walking and a concert. Breakfast was very good too. Overall the experience was a good one and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor, with a nice view of the city street. No noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for being so patient with our check in process. We have only been open for 1 month and all of our front desk staff are new. There are several procedures and processes still to implement. We are working harder with our housekeeping department to get the clean and inspected rooms into the front desk system so check in can improve. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Thanks again,
Hope Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I travel for business and pleasure and have stayed in so many 5 star hotels and this one beats them all. we had a hot tub suite with a nice view, and the staff brought my bags from the next door parking garage, parking was cheap, and the location walking distance to the Horseshoe Casino and some of the best restaurants in the world makes this the best hotel, not to mention this well built hotel had no noise from adjacent rooms.
The price was very affordable to spend a week there also.

Room Tip: I never went to the pool and spa, not sure about it but cannot uncheck here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldstreetphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes, Hope Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights...a few small issues..had to re-program key everyday..staff were very nice and accomadating. Close to parking garage..close to 4th Ave lots of restaurants.. Would recomend...Cleveland Rocks

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for posting nice remarks. We re-opened our doors on June 18th, 2012, and we are still in the process of getting/putting bedside lamps in all of our rooms, getting additional key making machines and training on how to make keys for more than just one night. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 14,842
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing