We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This B&B made our trip even better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brownstone Inn Downtown
Ranked #10 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This B&B made our trip even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My son and I decided to take a road trip to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Football Hall of Fame. Cleveland was the logical base for us to use, and the Brownstone Inn had good reviews. When I called Robin sounded very accommodating ...and then we arrived to a B&B and innkeeper who far exceeded our already high expectations.

The Brownstone Inn is charming, and Robin, the innkeeper has restored it beautifully. The common rooms are welcoming and well furnished with antiques that fit the rooms well, and all of the rooms have wallpapers that work well with the furnishings. The bedrooms were also well furnished, the beds were comfortable, and during December the down comforters were great! The house is immaculate. Not only is it restored, but Robin enjoys discussing the history of the house from its earliest days in its prime through its more difficult years.

Breakfast was very good and filling. Robin was very accommodating of our dietary restrictions.

One of the advantages of staying at this B&B is that Robin truly loves Cleveland. As a direct result of having stayed with Robin we visited several gems that we would not otherwise have planned to see. We left Cleveland having enjoyed the city.....which was an unexpected surprise. We left the Brownstone Inn very happy that we had chosen to stay there .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmicandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
19
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Okay. Here's a theme for you. Facing a second lay-off in two consecutive years, the wife and I decided to visit Cleveland and feel better about our lackluster professional lives. Fans of Anthony Bourdain and wanting to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for some time, we justified the mid-winter splurge with super-cheap Southwest airfare and scheduling an interview on the east side of Cleveland before our return home.
I seemed to remember rolling into CLE a bit late, but my wife and I were good communicators with our host and had no problem parking along the street, getting our room key, the nickel tour, and slipping under the covers for a decent night's sleep. Our second story room was functional and offered us a sleepy view of the wintry street below. Being an older structure with walls and floors that could talk, staying under the covers while the winds off Lake Erie blew by outside was imperative. [ROOMS-- 3.00 out of 5]
Innkeeper Robin has an entertaining, if not admirable, toughness about him. While I'd never call him at 1:30 in the morning to make a reservation, I did find his weighing in on local history, sightseeing, political corruption, et cetera, to be a big part of our delicious breakfast. Robin seemed dialed into what's going on in the world, and more importantly, exactly how much personality to dish out without overwhelming his guests. Still, I could see where the faint of heart might get rubbed the wrong way. [SERVICE-- 4.25 out of 5; DINING-- 4.50 out of 5]
The bang for your buck is pretty high here, especially weighing in the central location to Cleveland's top-notch culinary scene, world class museums, and nearby natural beauty. Granted, we visited in the dead of winter, but now that we call the eastside of Cleveland our home, we've had a wonderful time building on this initial weekend getaway to a very-much-alive city.
[VALUE-- 4.75 out of 5]

Room Tip: Think cozy, not posh.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Innkeeper Robin was terrific! Absolutely excellent food and hospitality in a great location just minutes from the downtown. We were awestruck from the minute we stepped in the door. Comfortable beds, clean facilities, cozy rooms and public spaces...what more could you ask for?

Robin also keeps plenty of literature on hand - in addition to his vast knoweldge of the area - for anybody looking for fun things to do in the awesome city.

Room Tip: E-mailing is more effective than phone calls for communication.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Brownstone Inn Downtown was built in 1874 and is a lovely home, with wooden banisters, with a delightful array of antiques and portraits from the 19th century. I enjoyed the historical nuances such as the so-called English basement with a lengthy corridor as the “servant’s entrance”. The proprietor Robin had plenty of brochures handy to guide each of his guests in their daily plans and was a fount of knowledge about the history, transit system and activities going on in Cleveland. He cooked a tasty breakfast each morning, varying the egg/meat accompaniment from mushrooms to asparagus to collard greens over the days of my stay.

While the immediate walking vicinity is pretty deserted, for those visiting without their own car, thankfully the “Health Line” (an accordion bus with a designated lane) runs every 5-15 minutes up and down Euclid Avenue and connects two interesting areas of Cleveland: Downtown and University Circle. There are ticket-dispensing machines at each “Health Line” stop, where I would purchase a $5 day pass, which one can use on the “Health Line”, rapid trains (red, blue, green lines) or RTA buses. From the Brownstone Inn, I tended to head over to “Asia Town” for supper, which was about a 10-15 minute walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtlbaltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Brownstone an absolute taste of a bygone era. From the moment you walk-in, Robin Yates, the Innkeeper, delights you with his gorgeous restoration of a Brownstone Building in downtown Cleveland.
Sitting at breakfast in the dining room and listening to 91.5FM with it's jazz and ragtime music softly playing you can't help but get to leave a little of your heart.
Robin was a superb tour guide and let me see the bustling revival of Cleveland...... can go on and on ......but words in a nutshell - GORGEOUS, AWESOME,SPLENDID,DELIGHTFUL just spring to mind!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanderella57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
2.6 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
4.6 km away
Glidden House
Glidden House
#8 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownstone Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownstone Inn Downtown

Property: Brownstone Inn Downtown
Address: 3649 Prospect Ave E, Cleveland, OH 44115-2703
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,202 - ₹ 8,080
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brownstone Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing