We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Stay! Great for short-term or long-term!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownstone Inn Downtown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brownstone Inn Downtown
Ranked #10 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay! Great for short-term or long-term!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Innkeeper Robin was terrific! Absolutely excellent food and hospitality in a great location just minutes from the downtown. We were awestruck from the minute we stepped in the door. Comfortable beds, clean facilities, cozy rooms and public spaces...what more could you ask for?

Robin also keeps plenty of literature on hand - in addition to his vast knoweldge of the area - for anybody looking for fun things to do in the awesome city.

Room Tip: E-mailing is more effective than phone calls for communication.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
19
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Brownstone Inn Downtown was built in 1874 and is a lovely home, with wooden banisters, with a delightful array of antiques and portraits from the 19th century. I enjoyed the historical nuances such as the so-called English basement with a lengthy corridor as the “servant’s entrance”. The proprietor Robin had plenty of brochures handy to guide each of his guests in their daily plans and was a fount of knowledge about the history, transit system and activities going on in Cleveland. He cooked a tasty breakfast each morning, varying the egg/meat accompaniment from mushrooms to asparagus to collard greens over the days of my stay.

While the immediate walking vicinity is pretty deserted, for those visiting without their own car, thankfully the “Health Line” (an accordion bus with a designated lane) runs every 5-15 minutes up and down Euclid Avenue and connects two interesting areas of Cleveland: Downtown and University Circle. There are ticket-dispensing machines at each “Health Line” stop, where I would purchase a $5 day pass, which one can use on the “Health Line”, rapid trains (red, blue, green lines) or RTA buses. From the Brownstone Inn, I tended to head over to “Asia Town” for supper, which was about a 10-15 minute walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtlbaltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Brownstone an absolute taste of a bygone era. From the moment you walk-in, Robin Yates, the Innkeeper, delights you with his gorgeous restoration of a Brownstone Building in downtown Cleveland.
Sitting at breakfast in the dining room and listening to 91.5FM with it's jazz and ragtime music softly playing you can't help but get to leave a little of your heart.
Robin was a superb tour guide and let me see the bustling revival of Cleveland...... can go on and on ......but words in a nutshell - GORGEOUS, AWESOME,SPLENDID,DELIGHTFUL just spring to mind!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanderella57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The room itself was nice and clean, no complaints about that. But these good aspects were completely overshadowed by the unpleasant and snooty demeanour of the the proprietor Robyn. Both my wife and I found him to be quite off-putting and sarcastic. Some may find himn "eccentric" we just found him obnoxious We drove 6 hours through the rain and arrive about 45 minutes late and he gave us an attitude for being late. The breakfast was of very poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank har005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

My stay at Brownstone Inn Downtown Cleveland has been a wonderful
experience for many reasons. I rate it 5 out of 5 stars in each category, and would recommend this Inn to any visitor of Cleveland without reservation.

First, Brownstone Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian building with great period furniture and design. Robin, the owner of the Inn, graciously gave a tour of the floors and explained the history and restoration of the building. The rooms are elegantly appointed. The bed in my room is incredibly comfortable (with very soft and fluffy coverings) - I fell asleep quickly and woke up refreshed. The gorgeous dinning room has a fireplace, adding warmth and coziness to cold, snowy days. Robin, the wonderful owner of the Inn, serves great breakfast in this dinning room each morning.

Second, the Inn is at a great location. It is only one block from the Healthline Bus (serves Cleveland Clinic, among others), which can take you to University Circle on the east side (where you will find Cleveland Art Museum, Natural History Museum and Botanic Garden) or Tower City on the west side (where you can catch the Redline to the airport) in a few minutes. I have no trouble finding the Inn at all even though it is my first visit of the city. To grab a quick bite, you will find a Subway within easy walking distance to the Inn.

Last but certainly not the least, Robin is the perfect host. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, he gives easy directions so you can find whatever attraction you may be looking for. He is also a truly caring person with a passion for the city, its history, architecture and culture. He makes Brownstone Inn a home away from home and a perfect choice to stay for a visit of Cleveland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitormar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#19 of 38 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.8 km away
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
2.8 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownstone Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownstone Inn Downtown

Property: Brownstone Inn Downtown
Address: 3649 Prospect Ave., Cleveland, OH 44115-2703
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,436 - ₹ 8,531
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brownstone Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing