We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, but basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Ok, this is a classic hampton hotel, and really, the room was great, the view was ok, i had the possibility to open my window, the wifi was a total joke (not working at all) and the business area is a lonely computer in main hall ...

But, was a correct stay, if I will go back to Cleveland, I'm not sure I will stay again in this hotel, because we had some issues with the front desk about breakfast coupon, room upgrade etc. etc.

The valet parking was really helpful and nice by the way!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear alelex,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I feel badly that your stay wasn’t up to the quality and service standards we pride ourselves on. I see that you and your family stayed with us last June; we’re very excited to announce that we’ve had a renovation since then, which included improving the quality and speed of our Wi-Fi. I sincerely hope that on your next visit to Cleveland you’ll give us a second opportunity to show you the true Hampton experience.

Yours truly,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    465
    129
    66
    42
See reviews for
341
382
74
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Everyone we encountered -- doormen, front desk personnel, and breakfast caterer, was very friendly and helpful. Really made us feel welcome and relaxed.

We arrived about an hour before check-in and they were happy to give us a room early. They also accommodated our request for a quiet room, letting us know that the quietest face an inner courtyard without a view (opposing office building). Since we live in a rural area, quiet is more important than scenery, so we took it. And it was very quiet. I usually wake up around 6:30am at home, and I was astounded when I slept until 8:00 there.

The furnishings were adequate. Nothing seemed crisp and new, but nothing was shabby either. Overall I'd say the room was a half-step down from what we usually find at a Hampton, but it was certainly acceptable.

The room was very clean. I always check right away, and there was no sign of dirt, hair, etc. Water pressure in the shower was excellent, and all the drains flowed freely.

The location was central and convenient. It's very near the warehouse district (though I can't say I was all that impressed with that - might be nicer in good weather). It's about an easy half-mile walk to the Rock'n'Roll Hall of Fame, which was the purpose of our trip.

Breakfast was the usual Hampton fare, including make-your-own waffles and an assortment of cereal, yogurt, eggs, etc.

Parking was $15/day, though they give you from whenever you arrive until 6pm the next day so you can actually get more than 24 hours. It's in an enclosed ramp about a block from the hotel.

BTW, the weekend room rate was about half the weekday rate.

Overall I was satisfied. I've stayed at nicer, newer Hamptons, but this one was fine and the staff was exceptionally pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!
Yours truly,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I can not rave enough about the customer service at this property. I am a road warrior and also work for a hotel so I am very critical about customer service. The staff here, especially the Front Desk Agent Machelle Gay, were exceptional! I left my jacket at home and stores were not open yet when I arrived in Cleveland. I was attending an outdoor hockey game and it was snowing outside and very cold. She graciously offered to let me use hers!!! I would have froze without it! She definitely sets a very high bar for fellow employees to follow!

The hotel is under renovation. Staff was apologetic for the mess, but was not a problem at all. I was in a renovated room that was very nice and comfortable. It was a busy weekend, but noise was not a factor. Location is great if attending Indians games as two (2) blocks from Progressive Field.

I will definitely recommend and use the hotel again based on my personal experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing Machelle, it made her day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Never again will I stay there they have no microwave no special bed it was advertised as 129 $ package deal they charged me 227$ thats false advertisement and I will be doin something about this

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonClevelandGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Good afternoon kcasto, I wanted to respond to your comments in hopes of clarifying your concerns. I thought our prior phone conversation detailed out the charges, I apologize if they were not clear to you.

I'm sorry to hear that you’re not open to staying with us in the future, our hotel has a great location and our rooms newly renovated. Not all of our rooms offer microwaves but our suites in fact do, in reviewing your reservation history I see you reserved a standard room. Our guests do have access to the microwave located in the breakfast area for future reference. As part of our recent renovation all of our beds have been replaced, we don't sell specific rooms with different beds; the sleeping experience we offer our guests is consistent throughout the hotel.

Currently our rooms do start at $129 per night plus tax, the package that you reserved offers a rate of $203 plus tax. The package rate included two tickets to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as well as valet parking. Upon check in we swipe your credit card and obtain an authorization that will cover your room charges, tax and approximately an extra 18% which in your case was about $42.00. The extra authorization is obtained to cover incidental charges such as telephone calls, pay per view movies, dry-cleaning charges, etc. Upon checkout whatever dollar amount is not needed is returned back to the issuing bank of the credit or debit card used. Based on the banks policy, they may take up to 3 to 5 days to return the unused funds to your account. If for whatever reason those funds have still not been released please let me know and I will assist you in contacting the bank to try to expedite the process.

In reference to the additional $250 charge, as we discussed, this was placed on your bill due to the condition you left the room in. The charge was for additional cleaning needed as I was unable to place another guest in that room without significant deep cleaning.

Again, I hope this clears up any confusion about our business practices. I want to make sure you understand the charges and eliminate your concerns of stealing money from your credit card. Should you have further questions or need additional copies of the charges please feel free to contact me and I will assist you in any way possible.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Wife and I took in a Browns/Ravens game and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This hotel is within walking distance to both. We were greeted as Hilton Honors members and given a newly refurbished room on the top floor, room 1501. The staff was great, elevators were fast but that may be because 5 floors were closed for renovations. Water pressure was good. The included breakfast is one of the better Hampton breakfasts. The new flat screen tv was nice but there was no guide channel and some channels were not clear. Overall a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KichwaTembo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 km away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.5 km away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,249 - ₹ 13,552
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing