We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodging on the Square
Ranked #5 of 11 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed at Lodging on the Square for our first time. It was a great place to stay, It is right in town, you can walk to all the Berlin shops, the breakfast was very good. We were also traveling with a pet and they are pet friendly. We will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ryers_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Y, Social Media/ Web Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Good Evening, we always enjoy hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate you sharing such a marvelous review/ recommendation for our inn here in Berlin, Ohio the Heart of Ohio's Amish Country. We look forward to you visiting us again sometime. Have a terrific Easter weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

This was our first visit to the Berlin area. We went there as a suggestion from a co-worker. We were looking for some place to spend our 30th Wedding Anniversary. After several days looking for hotels, I decided to surprise my my wife with a King Jacuzzi Suite at Lodging on the Square. My understanding is that there is just this one room which is room 100. The room was huge! It was like having our own custom apartment right in the heart of the shopping area. We did have some small issue with the water but that was resolved swiftly. We had such a great stay that we are planning a return visit within the next few months. The location of the property, friendliness of the staff, the ease of parking and the nice breakfast made this a great getaway!

Room Tip: Room 100 is a King Jacuzzi Suite with comfortable furniture, two large screen T.V's, and a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bam2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Y, Social Media/ Web Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Greetings, thank you for choosing to stay with us in our Deluxe room 100, we appreciate you sharing such a wonderful review/ recommendation for our inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We had a wonderful stay, other than the smoke alarm malfunctioning at 1:30 in the morning. But they got it stopped, and we all resumed our sleeping. Had a wonderful breakfast both days. Would definitely stay there again. It is so close to everything. Could walk to all the shops.

Room Tip: Even though it was on the front side, next to the street, there was little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank genefout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Y, Social Media/ Web Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Greetings, we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and do apologize for the smoke alarm malfunction waking you up. We are glad that you were able to get right back to sleep. Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, I know the ladies down there do their best to serve a deliciously prepared breakfast every morning. Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you sharing such a terrific review with our tripadvisor family. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

if your looking for a good budget motel, this is a good choice right in the heart of berlin, walk out to shopping and dining, the rooms are clean and comfortable but basic, I have stayed here several times.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Y, Social Media/ Web Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Greetings Deanna, we appreciate you sharing this great general review/ recommendation with our tripadvisor community and we would also like to thank you for your continued business. It's wonderful to know that we have terrific guests like you coming back to our inn again and again. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This was my first time visiting the area. The Square was a perfect location and the staff was very friendly. (we also received free cookies when we checked in)
However, When we first walked in our room it smelled a bit musty, and there were stains on the carpet. The beds needed to be updated. The mattress was old and my back hurt in the morning. The bathroom was nice a clean. Free breakfast was nice. It was an okay stay for just one night.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNesgoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Y, Social Media/ Web Manager at Lodging on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Greetings, we appreciate you staying with us and sharing your thoughts with us as well as others here on tripadvisor. We have been busily updating our Lodging on the Square location, we've most recently updated the linens and more updates are planned in the very near future. I have contacted the management about the musty smell because that is something I have noticed noted before in our reviews, especially during the fall when the weather is a little moister and cooler. They are aware and working on solutions to the issue. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
0.6 km away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#4 of 5 in Berlin
287 reviews
1.9 km away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 5 in Berlin
822 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 5 in Berlin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berlin Grande Hotel
6.5 km away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
324 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodging on the Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodging on the Square

Address: 4877 West Main St, PO Box 331, Berlin, OH 44610 (Formerly Zinck's Family of Inns)
Region: United States > Ohio > Berlin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: ₹ 5,045 - ₹ 10,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lodging on the Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zinck’s Family of Inns invites you to enjoy our centrally located, comfortable and relaxing, Lodging on the Square location. Lodging on the Square allows guests to step out of their room doors and into the center of downtown Berlin’s downtown shopping district. Take a short walk to enjoy shopping at your favorite shops and businesses, or eating at your favorite downtown Berlin restaurant. Enjoy your fresh baked cookies at check-in and a wonderfully hot delicious complimentary breakfast every morning when staying at our Lodging on the Square location. Having designated pet friendly rooms, we welcome your furry best traveling buddy to stay with you while staying with us at our Lodging on the Square location. We hope to see you soon here at Lodging on the Square for a friendly, enjoyable stay here in downtown Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lodging on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zinck`s Lodging On The Square Hotel Berlin
Lodging On The Square Berlin, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing