We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Restaurant, particular Sunday afternoons”
Review of The Haus Hahndorf

The Haus Hahndorf
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 42
Cuisines: German, Pizza, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Haus Hahndorf is a dining and social experience like no other. Located in the heart of the stunning Adelaide Hills, The Haus Restaurant showcases an amazing selection of dishes created from the best in local produce which changes with the seasons. Open 7 days a week serving food ALL DAY for, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, it is no surprise that The Haus Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants in Hahndorf. Come and enjoy our professional friendly service and if you're not after a meal just sit down and enjoy one of our tempting pastries, artisan coffees & FREE Wi-Fi. We also offer a large range of Healthy & Gluten Free options, as well as Vegetarian & Vegan-friendly dishes.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We have visited here now several times and love the ambiance. Outdoor seating, often with a live music entertainer, indoor Restaurant and Wintergarden style Biergarten.
Because its so popular it can get a bit crowded at times. Good selection of food and of German beers (and others), not cheap but just a bit above average pricing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FrequentFlyerUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi FrequentFlyerUN,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience!

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our selection of food and beers! Being in the heart of Hahndorf, which is one of South Australia's largest tourist destinations we do get extremely busy at times! Booking ahead is always a good idea, especially on weekends and public holidays!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 201 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

It was a beautiful spring day so to go indoors required something special. Though very busy, we were greeted with a nice atmosphere, beautiful pizzas and very good service.

Thank Jon_Ovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Jon_Ovy,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your springtime Haus Restaurant experience!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had a nice dinner out, but being pregnant I was pretty disappointed to have to pay $4.90 for a glass of coke.... for a couple of dollars more I could have enjoyed a glass of wine which would have been better value. Top end restaurants in the city don't charge that. I felt ripped off.

1  Thank PottPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear PottPotts,

We hope you enjoyed your meal at The Haus Hahndorf.

Thankyou for providing us feedback in regards to our pricing structure it will be passed onto our management team.

We wish you all the best for the remainder of your pregnancy and look forward to welcoming you back to The Haus!

Kind Regards
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I had breakfast here. Service was excellent. Maybe even a bit too much. I was asked if i wanted a coffee 3 times by 3 different waiters but would prefer that than slack service. I had a mixed plate of eggs bacon tomato etc. The only criticism was the sausage was a bit overcooked, the skin being very chewy. I asked for rye bread instead of sour dough and that was fine. So i appreciated that. Would recommend and go back.

Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Karen M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that there was a few minor issues with your Haus Restaurant experience, but we are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your meal and the service provided!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My husband and I have been here in the past (approx 4 years ago) and had a fantastic meal, so thought we'd return for a rare night out without the kids, for our anniversary dinner. First impressions - very loud, and unnecessary live music which made it difficult to hear anything. We were seated (in a strange little nook), and left for too long before someone return to take a drink order. By this time we were ready to order food, but the waiter would only take our drink order (??? strange). Another waiter came to take our food order - we ordered a garlic / cheese pizza bread starter, and I ordered a slow cooked serloin with kipfler potatoes etc etc, and my husband a trio of wursts - both from the specials menu. Started was average, not good, not bad. Main - my 'slow cooked' serloin was tougher than an old boot sole and so so dry. The potato / chorizo accompaniment looked like it had been scraped off someone elses plate and onto mine. Did not taste nice at all. My husbands wursts were overcooked, hard and dry. We had planned on dessert, but decided it would be a waste of money judging by the mains. Service was poor also - drinks brought out separately and a long time apart (??). The table adjacent to us had to get up and go to the bar to ask for some service. When we asked for the bill, the waitress said she would bring it to our table - she didnt. We got sick of waiting and went to pay at the bar where we were ignored for a few minutes while staff chatted about god knows what. The staff member asked us if we enjoyed our meals - my husband replied 'not really, it was pretty average'. The staff member then asked us then exact same question AGAIN - we gave the same answer - not sure why he asked twice - perhaps he wasnt paying attention in the first place??? Anyway, we came away severely disappointed with both the food and service. We certainly wouldn't chance going back again - not cheap either (for the standard we received).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank msb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HausRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Haus Hahndorf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear msb181,

We are disappointed to read the recent dining experience you had at The Haus Hahndorf.

We apologize on this occasion you didn’t receive the high level of food and service we pride ourselves on especially given it was a special occasion for you and your husband.

We would appreciate it if you can please contact our Restaurant Manager at elle.mcalister@haushahndorf.com.au to discuss the issues further and advise when you dined with us.

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback and we hope to hear from you,

Kind Regards,
Haus Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haus Hahndorf also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Haus Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing