We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Tropical Escape B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Tropical Escape B&B
Ranked #7 of 11 Mission Beach B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just realised I hadn't got around to writing a review after our stay here in Oct 2011, but thought I would put this to right as Dot & Noel were such excellent hosts and deserve the courtesy. From the first moment of our stay in Mission Beach when Noel picked us up from the Greyhound coach to the time he came to drop us off 2 days later, this place was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them. The bedroom was fantastic, so clean and comfy - and had direct access to the lovely gardens and pool. Every thought had been given to making our stay as wonderful as possible. Dot gave us a personal tour of the area, even taking us to the supermarket to pick up bits and pieces for our evening meal and BBQ - you certainly don't get that level of service very often!! We were travelling as a couple and were the only people booked in, so was wonderful to be able to talk for hours to them about life in Oz, inc. showing us through photos of the devastation of the cyclone and their adventures. I also believe that they would take the initiative from you and leave you alone if that is what you want. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancunian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
378 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

A Tropical Escape is a B&B in a modern house in quiet neighborhood. But it is more than just a house - it is more like a home because that is the way you feel while staying here (like part of the family). Dot and Noel are wonderful, caring hosts with lots of stories to share and valuable local information to impart.

We spent 8 weeks travelling in Australia and made many of our bookings along the way. We count ourselves very lucky to have found A Tropical Escape. We booked on-line for two days but extended that by a day as we were enjoying ourselves so much.

Our room (one of three) was large and very clean. It had a small fridge, TV, DVD, AC, a very comfortable bed with crisp white sheets, and a nice patio looking out onto a beautiful garden with a pool. The ensuite bathroom was spotless and had a great shower and really nice fluffy towels. In the main area of the house there was a pool table, TV with lots of videos, a fridge and bar stocked with juices, soft drinks, milk, coffee, tea, milo, fruit and a table with lots of brochures for activities in and around Mission Beach. We were always encouraged to help ourselves to whatever we wanted. Wifi is also available and included in the price.

The "breakfast" part of the B&B was fantastic. Each morning we had a cooked breakfast; cereal, fruit and yogourt are also available. If you stay here make sure you ask Dot to prepare her famous poached eggs.

The house is located only a short walk from a wide sandy beach where you can walk for miles, often without seeing anyone else.

One further thing to point out, and this speaks to how caring and hospitable the hosts are, is that if you plan to go into Mission Beach for dinner, Noel will offer to drive you in and pick you up rather than risking you having to drive after drinking.

In summary, a terrific place to stay with hosts you will consider as friends by the time you leave.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

A gorgeous place to rest our heads.Dot and Noel perfect hosts. The room was spacious, the pool was extremely relaxing and all the facilities are of excellent standard.
Great information and very helpful with forward planning.
A kangaroo visited us one evening making our visit truly memorable.

Thank you Dot and Noel, Jenny & Mick

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here over Easter with a family group of 3 couples therefore having the place to ourselves. The standards of the rooms were exceptional and we loved the pool table room and outdoor area. Dot & Noel were lovely hosts and Dot's breakfast was amazing. Would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sair284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Dot & Noel were very welcoming when we drove up without a reservation. Our room was well appointed with a patio facing a beautifully landscaped area. The breakfast was delicious. This is one of the nicest B&B's that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
7.8 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.6 km away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.3 km away
Hibiscus Lodge
Hibiscus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.3 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Tropical Escape B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tropical Escape B&B

Property: A Tropical Escape B&B
Address: 13 Spurwood Close, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Hotel Class:4 star — A Tropical Escape B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tropical Escape Bed and Breakfast has enjoyed great traveller reviews over the last eleven years. Eight minute walk to pristine beach through shaded beach access track. All of our three guest rooms have full ensuite, air-conditioning, TV, DVD player with complimentary DVD library, bar fridge, ceiling fan and private exit/entry via patio door. FREE Wi Fi and off street parking. Guests can walk to local restaurants, the Woolworths shopping village, pub/resort, chemist, gift shops, hairdresser, clothing boutiques and takeaway food outlets. Complimentary pick up from the Wongaling Beach Bus Station where Greyhound buses travel north from Townsville and south from Cairns, guests need to notify us of what time they will be arriving to utilise this service. Tour bookings can be made for you upon arrival. This property is not suitable for young children and please note we do not have any twin rooms. A full cooked breakfast is included in rate plus BBQ and self catering dishes available for guests to use. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing