We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply sensational!”

Ebb Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 231 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ebb Waterfront has gone in a new direction. We do not do fine dining and despite several request Trip advisor refuse to remove this Tag. We now offer great quality meals that everyone can afford and we have even started tapas for that economic but tasty dish. We still offer the same great service but gone is the pretentiousness and you now get more food for your money
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic place for a special occasion... Faultless cuisine and service. We had the degustation menu and it was really magic. Superbly presented and imaginative courses with the pork belly and dessert being a total stand out. The pacing of the food was great .. love a long leisurely dining experience. Incredibly well priced for such high quality food. The service was faultless and really friendly. The entire staff work together to make this a really lovely place to dine. Tables really well spaced out and a really lovely place to eat.

1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y3969PQinfo, Owner at Ebb Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

was an absolute delight to have a couple who appreciate and understand what a fine dining expierence is all about. you cant come here and expect your food delivered to your table in ten minutes. Everything here is made from scratch and you wont find things coming out of a packet. It was a pleasure for our head chef to hear your words of praise because he works very hard to provide only the very best of food and flavours. It was good enough for our Prime Minister to dine with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

It is with understanding when taking over a business, perfection can take time. Congratulations to the chef for four fabulous meals delivered by caring wait staff. My concern is with the untidy decor. It was a very windy day, but my observations saw a gas cylinder near seating, a stack of used tablecloths on a bench seat among other things. A superb setting needs a more perfect ambience

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank JAD9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y3969PQinfo, Owner at Ebb Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to point out how fabulous our chefs are and what amazing food they create , we also agree with you that our waiting staff are too doing a fab job. We are new to this business and so far we have been working seven days a week to bring this restaurant back to being one of the best on the sunshine coast, we accept that on the day you visited there was a gas bottle outside and while it is no excuse I had just purchased it to replace one that heats heaters for our guest and I should have replaced it quicker. The cloths you saw were napkins that had blown off the outside tables and we had set a side the dirty ones and were removing the glasses before they too were blown off. We will strive to do better and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

First, the service: The staff were very attentive, although they did forget one drink order. One of the mains arrived five minutes after the other three, (due to the fact that the chef had forgotten to add the swordfish to the fish stew), which was the same time that cracked pepper was offered.
Second, the food: The quality was not there for any of our four main dishes. The quantity was insufficient for an average appetite, spread around large plates with artistic flair, so much so that sides needed to be added. The chips were undercooked. The deserts were quite satisfactory. The coffee tasted like it was made out of UHT milk and not enjoyable. I have better at home.
Lastly, the cost: Most mains were in the high $30’s, not good value for money considering the portion sizes. The wine was fairly expensive and the sparkling water $4 a glass, (no bottles available). The cocktails were expensive and ordinary.
Overall, everyone was disappointed. It took three courses each, with a side, to be reasonably full.
There were plenty of apologies along the way, with a free house red to the person with the late meal. Although that wasn’t consistent with the better red wine we were drinking!
Maybe the fact that there were only 10 people, including us, when the restaurant would hold 60 plus, on a Saturday night says it all!
We won’t be back and wouldn’t recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Really loved the setting and the view, the waitress advised us it was her first day when we asked a question about the sparkling, I loved her honesty and she was very pleasant and friendly. My mum loved her pork entrée and Italian seafood main course. I was a little disappointed as on booking I asked if dairy free was catered for and was advised most meals could be amended no problem. On a small menu I found it a bit odd that kingfish was not available and substituted, as was calamari in the stew. Regardless, my trout entrée was yummy, main seemed more tricky for them on dairy free and I wasn't offered many substitutes, it seemed too hard for them. There was only six people dining at lunch, our table of two and a table of four, it took about ten minutes to get some bread to go with my main, as chefs were 'doing desserts', and 'something was going on behind the scenes' we were told!? I also think when offering lunch specials, maybe a larger variety of wines by the glass is a good idea? Obviously something was going on for them today which is a shame for us, as it has great potential.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y3969PQinfo, Owner at Ebb Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

we cater for all types here but as explained to you if you have special needs it does limit your choices. Our supplier was unable to provide Kingfish and I can assure you this can happen at any restaurant. The bread was delivered to your table five minutes after the order went through which I think most normal people would understand as being acceptable. We offer a very good choice of wines but like any restaurant we don't offer them all by the glass or we would end up with so much wastage when a bottle wasn't drunk and we are running a business. We feel you were looked after very well and am sorry you believe you were not

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

A group of us went for the degustation lunch menu and the food was 5 star. It was beautiful presented and delicious. Loved it!!!!! Unfortunately the service was more like being in an RSL. Glasses carried by the rim, fingers on the plates and even cutlery. When asked about the dish being served the response was here is a menu so you can read it yourself. Abrupt, inappropriate humour and poorly presented staff (active wear), even the owners where unwelcoming.

So although the food was sensational the atmosphere and service were not, which is why we will consider somewhere else next time.

3  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y3969PQinfo, Owner at Ebb Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for your opinion. we have spoken to the waitress concerned and explained the need to have higher standards. We are working extremely hard to lift the standard after taking over a couple of months ago . As owners we go out of our way to be welcoming but on the day you arrived we were extremely busy and both of us were required to help out so we apologise if you feel neglected. We have had nothing but praise to date as to how we are turning this restaurant around from being very run down to a high quality restaurant . We have replaced all the furniture , all the carpet and most of the glasses and crockery. We are trying but accept that places like trip advisor are designed for people to complain and sometimes it is warranted and sometimes it is not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebb Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Buderim, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Ebb Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing