We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Coffee Works

Coffee Works
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Mareeba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bring your hunger for new experiences and your thirst for something completely different when you visit the Coffee Works, in Mareeba, just one hour from Cairns and Port Douglas. Eclectic and highly original, Coffee Works attracts over 200,000 visitors each year for what can best be described as a totally delicious day out. Find the perfect gift as you explore a treasure trove of incredible edibles, gourmet gifts and an ever changing array of stunning, unusual and affordable gifts in the packed to the rafters gift shop. Kick back and relax in lush tropical surrounds with flaming fabulous BBQ lunches, sweet treats, gourmet sorbet, superb gelato and irresistible chocolate platters created onsite in the Coffee Works own boutique Chocolaterie. Over 50 fabulous chocolate flavours are created before your eyes. It's like Willly Wonka, without the Oompa Loompas! The main event at Coffee Works is Coffee World. If it has anything to do with growing, roasting, serving, drinking or trading coffee, you will find it somewhere in this mammoth sensory wonderland. This is the biggest, best and most significant collection of coffee artefacts in the world, presented as one entire exhibition, for the very first time in history. Coffee World tells the epic story of coffee, 1,000 years in the making. A labyrinth of light and sound brings over 2000 coffee and tea making treasures from the past to life. There are plungers, filters, percolators, samovars, espresso machines, grinders, balance pots spanning over 350 years of art and design. It's all about choosing your own adventure. You are free to roam, using hand held audio guides to explore the stunning displays and themed entertainment rooms. Relish the opportunity to savour and compare the very best local beans to premium coffees from around the world. Explore the premium coffee regions of the world from the Coffee Works tasting room. Included in your Coffee World adventure is a sensory safari of unlimited all-day tastings of coffee, tea, chocolate and liqueur. There are no limits to how much you enjoy, or, how often you can return. Coffee Works gives everyone visiting Coffee World free re-admission with special Re-Entry cards to return again and again.
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Have lunch in the tin shed then look around at the chocolates and the gift items. A very large gift store on show here. Great for people at home. We found the girl helpful wrapping our bottle in bubblewrap giving us a bag and a cold pack for the chocolates for the plane.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Marketing at Coffee Works, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi there Julie!

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear our Guest Service was at the high standard we strive for!

Have a Delicious Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

This was not what I expected the brochure said every kid got a prize but my children didn’t get one. The “special drink” was just a milkshake. There were only 12 flavours and the coffee tasted the same there are only 4 teas and they weren’t pleasant you can buy them from the supermarket and they’ll taste the same. The museum was just full of coffee machines and was confusing. The coffee was cold and you have to pay to get a warm one and was very expensive you must pay 70c for an extra shot. The entry fee was expensive and the food inside was over priced. It was inside a big warehouse in a small town. Don’t let the brochures trick you. It costs more to get to see the coffee roasting. I do not recommend going here it was the worst part of my holiday

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Ish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Marketing at Coffee Works, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time out to do so.

I'd like to further explain the Coffee World Experience if I may.

Each child does receive a Special Prize in the form of a small Chocolate to take home, upon completion of our "Kids Explorer Packs" - an activity sheet designed to teach and entertain the children while in the Museum. The Special Drink is indeed a Flavoured "Chilla" which is Complimentary. The Unlimited Tastings include over 21 Coffees, including Espresso and Cold Brew Coffee. The Museum itself is in fact the Biggest, Best and Most Significant Tea and Coffee Collection in the World - this does include Hand-Held Audio Guides, Mini Theatre Rooms and Information Boards. The opportunity to visit the Roastery and see the Roasting Process is included in the Coffee World Experience, not at all any extra.
We do hope we can welcome you back again to experience and enjoy all that we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Had to have a coffee and cake of course. The place was busy and the coffee experience really good. There are lots of things to get as souvenirs of the Atherton and of course to buy some coffee to take home.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank davidhF6871NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Marketing at Coffee Works, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi there David!

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear of your enjoyable experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

A nice place to visit and enjoy a coffee and but some chocolate. The chocolate room is for all kids young and old.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank DeniseGreg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Marketing at Coffee Works, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience with us. We appreciate this and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Ordered 3 takeaway coffee's for a quick pick me up over the weekend. All three individuals reported weak tasting coffee, which wasn't terrible but not worth the trip to purchase.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank NQPsych2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Marketing at Coffee Works, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of this experience with us. We would have loved the opportunity to correct this and make them just the way you like them. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Works also viewed

 
Mareeba, Queensland
 

Been to Coffee Works? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing