We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Malanda Lodge Motel(Malanda)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharlynn B&B(Malanda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
167
39
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
39
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housebreakfast hamperspa baththe kitchenatherton tablelandsleaf restaurantboth nightsearly morningwilderness retreatcomplete privacybird watchersrainbow lorikeetslocal wildlifeoutside worldground levelamazing placeget away from it all
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed in one of their treehouses. It went beyond all expectations, with beautifully crafted cabins, huge windows overlooking the rainforest. Birding was also exceptional and easily accessible. We only encountered other guests in the dining room and reception- very private. Peeta was outstanding in her recommendations for walks to take for specific birds we wanted to see, and also provided a great itinerary for us for when we left Rose Gums and headed to Daintree. It was a great experience-- especially when we had a southern cassowary peeking into our bathroom for a look! I am a celiac and have to be strictly gluten free; Peeta provided us with an additional breakfast hamper that suited my needs quite well. The only thing I didn't like was that it was quite pricey accomodation, and yet they still charged extra $ for the morning wildlife lecture and the breakfast hamper was pretty expensive, but still more convenient than going out.

Room Tip: We had the Kookaburra treehouse, which is quite "part of the forest", very roomy, and private
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AprilJ1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We do try very hard to meet our guests expectations and I will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of the team here at Rose Gums.
With such an abundance of natural wonders to choose from, touring through the Cairns highlands can be an exciting and rewarding adventure and we are so pleased that you made the most of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We just left yesterday 31st August after a weeks stay in Cockatoo.

Treehouse was just amazing, the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed.
The breakfast basket provided for the first morning was simply amazing . Organic Yoghurt , tasty museli and plenty of fresh fruit. The bread provided was very good, no artificial ingredients and not at all doughy.
The treehouse was very clean, only minor complaint and that is us being very lazy was no dishwasher.
We ate in the restaurant for all of our week long stay, and was absolutely fantastic. Never tired of the food.
We are at this moment sitting in a hotel in Hong Kong there for work. Am thinking of the wonderful scallops with the cauliflower purée and would just love to be back there now.
Such a talented chef, who came out every evening to talk to us and make sure we were enjoying the food.
Well done Peta and Jon who have created such a special place for nature in an area previously used for logging.
These areas are so important not just for Australia but globally.
We hope to return one day

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wombat55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Well, thank you very much for the wonderful review. We all try very hard to make our guest's stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.
The Atherton Tablelands is indeed a nature lovers jewel, with unique flora and fauna to be found in a comfortable tropical highland climate.
It is also heartening to read your comments about our rainforest rehabilitation efforts. As a 'Nature Refuge', we take our stewardship of the land and all it holds very seriously; a legacy for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Lovely tree houses which were very comfortable and clean. Would have given this review 5 stars however, the breakfast hamper was a bit of a disappointment. I would have expected more for the price we paid i.e. locally sourced wholefoods, greater quantity of yogurt (a tiny little 300ml cup was not enough for 2 adults for 2 breakfasts), more fresh fruit etc. The tiny boxes of Special K are a bit tacky.
We have stayed in other similar boutique accommodation for the same price which was a lot more luxurious and received much more in the breakfast hamper.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of this accommodation was very convenient for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PorridgeEngineer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Rose Gums.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast hamper and will be reviewing this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I actually stayed at Rose Gums several years ago, shortly after the big cyclone had hit, and were absolutely delighted by the experience. Looking at the website it appears to be even more wonderful now (the vegetation has now recuperated from the cyclone) and I am sure the hosts are just as wonderful (friendly, helpful and knowledgeable) as they were then. We have often talked of making the trip from Brisbane to the Atherton Tableland just to revisit Rose Gums, but now we think we have found something comparable in the Mouses House at Springbook. We are going in about a month - wait for the review!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nainai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments about Rose Gums and I hope the Mouse House lives up to your expectations.
To give you an update on us; luckily, Cyclone Yasi veered south in February of 2011, and did not cause too much damage here. The rain forest is well recovered and we even see a young Cassowary sauntering through the property from time to time.
In 2015, we undertook a major refurbishment of the tree-houses and you may also notice on our website, the updated images of the views which have been opened up to provide spectacular vistas of the Wooroonooran National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Looking for a retreat in the trees? This is the place in the midst of a rainforest, stunning surroundings and plenty of natural sounds - accommodation and nature perfectly combined. Apartment surprisingly accommodates for all needs, even the bath tub offers jacuzzi moments! Restaurant is gourmet experience, and highly individualized with 'personal' chef.
Morning animal feeding recommended, fascinating proximity to animals with good background information from owner.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gauttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments and will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of our team.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife viewing, it is very popular and allows our guests the opportunity to see the King Parrots and Lorikeets up close and to also delight in seeing the primitive and smallest Musky Rat Kangaroo enjoying his 'breakfast'.
As our restaurant is not open to the public, our chef Bradley takes great pride in providing a personalized service in the peaceful and friendly atmosphere of LEAF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews