We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
173
39
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
39
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housebreakfast hamperspa baththe kitchenatherton tablelandsleaf restaurantearly morningwilderness retreatcomplete privacybird watchersrainbow lorikeetslocal wildlifeoutside worldground levelget away from it allwonderful placea wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We just left yesterday 31st August after a weeks stay in Cockatoo.

Treehouse was just amazing, the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed.
The breakfast basket provided for the first morning was simply amazing . Organic Yoghurt , tasty museli and plenty of fresh fruit. The bread provided was very good, no artificial ingredients and not at all doughy.
The treehouse was very clean, only minor complaint and that is us being very lazy was no dishwasher.
We ate in the restaurant for all of our week long stay, and was absolutely fantastic. Never tired of the food.
We are at this moment sitting in a hotel in Hong Kong there for work. Am thinking of the wonderful scallops with the cauliflower purée and would just love to be back there now.
Such a talented chef, who came out every evening to talk to us and make sure we were enjoying the food.
Well done Peta and Jon who have created such a special place for nature in an area previously used for logging.
These areas are so important not just for Australia but globally.
We hope to return one day

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wombat55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Well, thank you very much for the wonderful review. We all try very hard to make our guest's stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.
The Atherton Tablelands is indeed a nature lovers jewel, with unique flora and fauna to be found in a comfortable tropical highland climate.
It is also heartening to read your comments about our rainforest rehabilitation efforts. As a 'Nature Refuge', we take our stewardship of the land and all it holds very seriously; a legacy for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Lovely tree houses which were very comfortable and clean. Would have given this review 5 stars however, the breakfast hamper was a bit of a disappointment. I would have expected more for the price we paid i.e. locally sourced wholefoods, greater quantity of yogurt (a tiny little 300ml cup was not enough for 2 adults for 2 breakfasts), more fresh fruit etc. The tiny boxes of Special K are a bit tacky.
We have stayed in other similar boutique accommodation for the same price which was a lot more luxurious and received much more in the breakfast hamper.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of this accommodation was very convenient for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PorridgeEngineer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Rose Gums.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast hamper and will be reviewing this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I actually stayed at Rose Gums several years ago, shortly after the big cyclone had hit, and were absolutely delighted by the experience. Looking at the website it appears to be even more wonderful now (the vegetation has now recuperated from the cyclone) and I am sure the hosts are just as wonderful (friendly, helpful and knowledgeable) as they were then. We have often talked of making the trip from Brisbane to the Atherton Tableland just to revisit Rose Gums, but now we think we have found something comparable in the Mouses House at Springbook. We are going in about a month - wait for the review!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nainai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments about Rose Gums and I hope the Mouse House lives up to your expectations.
To give you an update on us; luckily, Cyclone Yasi veered south in February of 2011, and did not cause too much damage here. The rain forest is well recovered and we even see a young Cassowary sauntering through the property from time to time.
In 2015, we undertook a major refurbishment of the tree-houses and you may also notice on our website, the updated images of the views which have been opened up to provide spectacular vistas of the Wooroonooran National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Looking for a retreat in the trees? This is the place in the midst of a rainforest, stunning surroundings and plenty of natural sounds - accommodation and nature perfectly combined. Apartment surprisingly accommodates for all needs, even the bath tub offers jacuzzi moments! Restaurant is gourmet experience, and highly individualized with 'personal' chef.
Morning animal feeding recommended, fascinating proximity to animals with good background information from owner.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gauttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments and will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of our team.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife viewing, it is very popular and allows our guests the opportunity to see the King Parrots and Lorikeets up close and to also delight in seeing the primitive and smallest Musky Rat Kangaroo enjoying his 'breakfast'.
As our restaurant is not open to the public, our chef Bradley takes great pride in providing a personalized service in the peaceful and friendly atmosphere of LEAF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Thank you Peta and Jon for a wonderful stay at Rose Gums. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and can not wait to return back. It was just what we needed to unwind and relax. The treehouses were just adorable and very comfortable. The meals at LEAF Restaurant were wonderful and it was great to get a takeaway dessert to finish at the treehouse later (I was too full to finish!) The walks around Rose Gums are fantastic and we were lucky to spot some native wildlife along the way! Thank you Peta and Jon again, you are both wonderful hosts and we can not wait to return to Rose Gums!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MermaidNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you for these lovely comments on your stay at Rose Gums. It is a special pleasure for us to welcome back return guests and to read that your stay was so enjoyable. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of the team.
We are just coming into breeding season so the wildlife is particularly active here at the moment, we even had a young cassowary straying onto the property, this last week. Hopefully it won't be too long until you find your way back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews