We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Malanda Lodge Motel(Malanda)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Fig Motel(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allumbah Pocket Cottages(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Summit Hideaway(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Retreat(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kookaburra Lodge Motel(Yungaburra)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atherton Motel(Atherton)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
164
38
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
38
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housebreakfast hamperspa baththe kitchenatherton tablelandsleaf restaurantboth nightsearly morningwilderness retreatcomplete privacybird watcherson site restaurantlocal wildlifeoutside worldvery special placeground levelamazing place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Lovely tree houses which were very comfortable and clean. Would have given this review 5 stars however, the breakfast hamper was a bit of a disappointment. I would have expected more for the price we paid i.e. locally sourced wholefoods, greater quantity of yogurt (a tiny little 300ml cup was not enough for 2 adults for 2 breakfasts), more fresh fruit etc. The tiny boxes of Special K are a bit tacky.
We have stayed in other similar boutique accommodation for the same price which was a lot more luxurious and received much more in the breakfast hamper.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of this accommodation was very convenient for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PorridgeEngineer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Rose Gums.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding the complimentary breakfast hamper and will be reviewing this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I actually stayed at Rose Gums several years ago, shortly after the big cyclone had hit, and were absolutely delighted by the experience. Looking at the website it appears to be even more wonderful now (the vegetation has now recuperated from the cyclone) and I am sure the hosts are just as wonderful (friendly, helpful and knowledgeable) as they were then. We have often talked of making the trip from Brisbane to the Atherton Tableland just to revisit Rose Gums, but now we think we have found something comparable in the Mouses House at Springbook. We are going in about a month - wait for the review!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nainai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments about Rose Gums and I hope the Mouse House lives up to your expectations.
To give you an update on us; luckily, Cyclone Yasi veered south in February of 2011, and did not cause too much damage here. The rain forest is well recovered and we even see a young Cassowary sauntering through the property from time to time.
In 2015, we undertook a major refurbishment of the tree-houses and you may also notice on our website, the updated images of the views which have been opened up to provide spectacular vistas of the Wooroonooran National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Looking for a retreat in the trees? This is the place in the midst of a rainforest, stunning surroundings and plenty of natural sounds - accommodation and nature perfectly combined. Apartment surprisingly accommodates for all needs, even the bath tub offers jacuzzi moments! Restaurant is gourmet experience, and highly individualized with 'personal' chef.
Morning animal feeding recommended, fascinating proximity to animals with good background information from owner.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gauttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments and will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of our team.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife viewing, it is very popular and allows our guests the opportunity to see the King Parrots and Lorikeets up close and to also delight in seeing the primitive and smallest Musky Rat Kangaroo enjoying his 'breakfast'.
As our restaurant is not open to the public, our chef Bradley takes great pride in providing a personalized service in the peaceful and friendly atmosphere of LEAF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Thank you Peta and Jon for a wonderful stay at Rose Gums. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and can not wait to return back. It was just what we needed to unwind and relax. The treehouses were just adorable and very comfortable. The meals at LEAF Restaurant were wonderful and it was great to get a takeaway dessert to finish at the treehouse later (I was too full to finish!) The walks around Rose Gums are fantastic and we were lucky to spot some native wildlife along the way! Thank you Peta and Jon again, you are both wonderful hosts and we can not wait to return to Rose Gums!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MermaidNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you for these lovely comments on your stay at Rose Gums. It is a special pleasure for us to welcome back return guests and to read that your stay was so enjoyable. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the rest of the team.
We are just coming into breeding season so the wildlife is particularly active here at the moment, we even had a young cassowary straying onto the property, this last week. Hopefully it won't be too long until you find your way back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This is the 4th time I have been here over the years and its consistently lives up to expectations!!
We were greeted by the owners charming son and picked up afew dvds of the shelf as it was going to be a rainy weekend.
Chalet was clean and the bed super comfy. We always love the breakfast basket waiting in the fridge.
We ate at Leaf restaurant on both nights and it was top notch and great that you can bring your own wine.
I will always return when possible.
You guys have an amazing place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

It is always our pleasure to welcome back previous guests and we thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are a small team here at Rose Gums and your glowing comments are greatly appreciated by us all, thank you.
Hopefully, it won't be too long before we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews