We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rainforest Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainforest Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed in a Rainforest Bayan for 2 nights at the beginning of January 2016. Lucky the rooms have air-conditioning as it was hot but our beautiful room was a lovely escape, spacious and open, nicely appointed and very comfortable with a bath on the balcony set right in the rainforest. You can hear all the nature noises from your room, you really feel like you're in the rainforest here. The room was very private and had no stairs to get to which was perfect to access with our 10 month old baby and stroller.

From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. We got a transfer from Cairns which was very scenic, on arrival we were greeted by Sue who suggested a few activities for the day (we didn't have transport so this was greatly appreciated), massages at the day spa - so relaxing and helped us immerse ourselves into the rainforest experience, and a river cruise which Sue kindly dropped us in to town for.
As we arrived at lunch time with no transport the chef even did us a massive favour and fixed us a quick lunch as he was closing the kitchen, this even included a special meal for our son. This is just one example of how the staff really go out of their way for you.
Did I mention the food?! Spectacular!! We ate at the restaurant both nights for dinner as you really don't need to go anywhere else. We spoke to other travellers too and we weren't the only ones who thought this. Breakfast was really delicious too.
On our second day the hotel arranged a walking tour for us around the property which was totally eye opening, all the interesting plants and their uses around the property was so interesting, there's also a waterfall on the property at the end of the walking track, worth exploring.
Overall we had a fantastic trip which was highlighted by all the lovely staff and such a beautiful property set right in the rainforest. Definitely recommend staying at the Daintree Eco Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _reneegeorgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good morning Renee,
we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our wonderful staff's thoughtfulness and attentiveness. They will be truly honoured to read your kind words. What a lovely way to start 2017. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    94
    34
    33
    17
See reviews for
70
337
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We had high expectations before staying here, as we had read lots of very positive reviews. The lodge met and exceeded these and we can only hope other visitors to Daintree get the chance to stay here, as the lodge is small (an advantage when you are there). There are not many places that you really feel in and up amongst the tall trees of the rainforest, but with the tree houses having all of the modern comforts that anyone would need or wish for.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good morning lpwainright, we are very pleased to have been able to provide you with the opportunity to wholeheartedly escape into the ancient rainforest during your stay with us. It can be a bit daunting aiming to exceed great expectations and we're delighted to have been able to achieve that ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Only stayed for one night as part of our tour of Australia, really wish we could have stayed longer

Rooms very nice, pool area great and plenty of space to sunbathe. The food in the restaurant was top notch, and breakfast very high quality

Hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere, the peace and tranquility was a welcome relaxation in the middle of a busy holiday, no provision for lunch at the hotel as most guests are out on day trips or have hired a car, with only one day here we did neither however, after e mailing the hotel before we arrived we came prepared to provide our own lunch.

No TV in the room, but felt it would have detracted from the serenity anyway, only regret is we didn't book for 2-3 nights and got the chance to explore the Day tree rainforest and numerous local wildlife tours

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmW648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good morning Malcolm, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to hosting your longer stay next time ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

The hotel is set in a lush tropical environment. Small, with only 15 or so rooms, it is quiet and relaxed. Like other guests, our stay there was short, so we really appreciated the help of the staff in making the most of our time there. The recommendations, and assistance with making bookings were so helpful and every single member of staff was happy, cheerful and contributed to a relaxed atmosphere. The room was spacious, well cared for and the surroundings totally in keeping with the location. Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaragoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon Barbara,
it was our pleasure top host your stay with us recently. Thank you for sharing your kind review. We look forward to seeing you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

Our teens wanted to know about our next hotel, and we gave them this description: private cabins, lifted off the ground, a bit like tree houses.

Each private lodge had a small kitchen area, with mini fridge and espresso coffee maker, a large king bed (that can be split into two twins, as needed), a screened porch/sitting room with couches and coffee table, and luxurious but small bathroom with rain shower.

While the rooms did not have air conditioning, that did not matter for our summer stay: ceiling fans kept us pleasantly cool throughout the night. The screened windows were open, and we could hear the rainforest creatures chirp throughout the night. Back to nature.

We had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant. The menu and wines were top notch, and our five dinners were delicious, innovative, and beautifully presented. Really, it was a very good restaurant. Breakfast, included in our room rate, was also very good. The restaurant is also open to those not staying at the hotel.

This was a worthwhile stopover after a SCUBA boat trip in Cairns. (Divers take notice: good place to overnight while waiting 24 hours to fly.) We did not have the chance on our one-night stay to visit the spa.

The scenic drive is straightforward from Cairns, with safe, paved roads.

We enjoyed visiting the Mossman Gorge as part of our Daintree trip.

Another reviewer mentioned staying here for a honeymoon -- we complete agree that this could be used for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a bit extra for the more modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello MichaeltheWanderer,
we are pleased you fisdocvered the EcoLodge for your rainforest respite, and that your family enjoyed their experience sincerely-from the quality of your meals, to your accommodation and our very special rainforest setting.
For fellow readers, each of our fifteen bayans are equipped with reverse cycle air conditioning, though some guests may prefer to open their balcony doors to immerse themselves fully in the fresh rainforest air.
At this time of the year, the chilled interiors can be a rather inviting retreat from the rich humid forest air though ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
27.9 km away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
23.2 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
9.1 km away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
2.6 km away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
9.3 km away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Property: Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Address: 20 Daintree Road | PMB 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,774 - ₹ 20,180
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa IS pure escapism. We invite you to relish romance, to respect ancient culture, and to celebrate each day restfully nestled within an ancestral destination for the healing of the spirit. The Daintree EcoLodge & Spa offers a variety of accommodation choices with welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Retreat from the world in one of our 'bayans', a private tree house designed for two. A micro screened balcony offers stunning immersion within the rainforest, abundant with a thousand shades of green growing before your eyes. Inside, luxurious and thoughtful amenities are tailored to satisfy our guests' wishes. Resting over a lily filled lagoon is Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, a magical destination for unwinding in the ambience of deep forest. A daily menu draws inspiration from the tropical surrounds showcasing contemporary Australian cuisine while the Bar selection is curated to complement this unique dining experience. Our Wellness Spa is a sanctuary in which to serenely disconnect. A harmony of nature, nurture, wisdom and healing infuses a luxuriant treatment menu using the Li'tya pure Australian botanical range. While guests may choose never to leave our rainforest escape, Daintree EcoLodge & Spa is also the perfect base from which to explore the wonders of tropical Far North Queensland. This sun-kissed corner of Australia lures travellers from all corners, providing an exclusive opportunity to encounter adjacent World Heritage sites. Ancient rainforest and the magnificent Daintree River meet untouched coastal ranges and the calm, azure waters of the Coral Sea, home to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing