We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service & Incredible food ”

Julaymba Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Daintree
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Using unique local Australian ingredients, the team at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar aspire to create culinary art engaging each of the five senses. Purity, simplicity and respect for both the ingredient, and the process, is at the heart of our chef's cooking style, while a creative layering of texture and flavour adds complexity and nuance to each dish. Our team's inspiration creates the opportunity for guests to enjoy an exceptional dining experience at Julaymba Restaurant and Bar. Relax at a table in a tranquil and relaxing environment while we showcase the very best of contemporary Australian cuisine. Please talk to our staff about any special dietary requirements. Our dishes, our wines and our cocktails are curated and created to perfectly complement your dining experience.
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed an amazing dinner at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar! The service was 5 star and the food was faultless! All eight of us enjoyed our three course meals. I would highly recommend when visiting The Daintree! We will be back for sure

Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Hi Corinne,
many thanks for sharing your review-we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Julaymba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

A relaxed and warm inviting environment with beautiful views. Food was devine and so fresh and delicious, we ordered the crab for entree and then two mains which were buffalo and kangaroo in a dark chocolate jus. Luke our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the area. A romantic dinner for two is what we expected and what we received. You definitely get what you pay for here.

Thank Shaunee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Shaunee,
thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your evening sounds lovely (and romantic)!
It's great to read your feedback on the buffalo, in tastings it has been absolutely delicious​!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere outside next to water.
Staff quite lovely there was a young local guy serving us I think his name was Luke he made us feel very relaxed.
Bam to top it off food was fantastic.

Thank Dizzyr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thank you for sharing-we shall pass on your​ kind words to Luke and our kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely food. Nice ambience amongst the trees. Big tick on service...mid price range. Nice stop off between deep fainter and Daintree village.

Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thank you for sharing Karen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

The setting was lovely. If it wasn't for the setting I would have given it a one star. We came right as they opened at 6pm. Great table by the water.

The rolls were a highlight. The butter was soft and had a nice seasoning.

We ordered the fish special which was coral trout. We have had it a couple times in Australia and it has always been good.

Also ordered the rib eye 300 grams.

The fish was rubbery and had an odd taste the veggies that accompanied it were fresh. Both my companion and I concurred that the fish was not edible. We each had a bite and set it aside.

The steak was good but only luke warm. My guess is they made the steak first and then let it set until they made the fish and plated the rest. It was cooked to the right temperature of medium rare. Unfortunately it was not warm when I received it. The mashed potatoes were good that it was plated with.

My guest did not eat the fish and instead shared the steak and potatoes with me.

When one of the servers noticed she did not eat the fish she asked about it but did not apologize or offer to correct the problem.

My companion ordered a side salad as she was still hungry and another roll. That took about 30 minutes to bring out. The salad and rolls were delicious.

We were not charged for the extra two rolls but no apology was made about the fish.

If your going book a table by the water, and only order steak, salad, and the rolls.

Thank wishwell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julaymba Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Daintree, Daintree Region
Daintree, Daintree Region
 

Been to Julaymba Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing