We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julaymba Restaurant & Bar

Julaymba Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Using unique local Australian ingredients, the team at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar aspire to create culinary art engaging each of the five senses. Purity, simplicity and respect for both the ingredient, and the process, is at the heart of our chef's cooking style, while a creative layering of texture and flavour adds complexity and nuance to each dish. Our team's inspiration creates the opportunity for guests to enjoy an exceptional dining experience at Julaymba Restaurant and Bar. Relax at a table in a tranquil and relaxing environment while we showcase the very best of contemporary Australian cuisine. Please talk to our staff about any special dietary requirements. Our dishes, our wines and our cocktails are curated and created to perfectly complement your dining experience. Say hello to the evening's adventure, with a 'Happy Hour' drink as the sun sets over the deck, daily between 4.30-6.30 pm.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Service and food was good but you had to pay for extra bread and all you were given was two 1 inch diameter rolls.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Hi Josie,
many thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to read that enjoyed our service and and our food.
For fellow readers, I shall clarify that we offer complimentary house baked bread for each table. Should you desire to order more, we charge a nominal fee for the second serve.
At the time of your visit with us, that charge was $2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to dine in the Daintree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner here. The prawns were superb , and kangaroo and duck well cooked with local produce and fruit. The chocolate fondant was to die for.
The restaurant is in a wonderful natural location and we dined to the sights and sounds of frogs.
A special mention to Luke, a great host who is very passionate about food and local produce and of course the new Chef!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rita_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Rita_Thomas,
thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to share your kind review. Both our chef team, and Luke, will be happy to read your positive feedback.
PS, I confirm the chocolate fondant is rather d'lish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delight in the Daintree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

We had dinner here twice, plus breakfast three times, as we were staying at the attached Daintree Eco Lodge & Spa. All of our meals were absolutely delicious, no complaints. The meat was cooked to perfection.

I have many special dietary requirements, and they were only too happy to help! I was able to mix and match from the menu, and they even let me know that I could ask for something that wasn't listed if there was nothing I could eat. What a welcome relief!

Luke and the other waiter (we never caught her name, sorry) were so friendly and just seemed like lovely people.

If you're staying near the Daintree Village then you'll find that this is one of the only options for dinner, especially on weeknights. The few other dining options in the area are mostly only open for breakfast and lunch.

The meals are pricier than other local options, but it really is delicious food. For reference, entrees were $9-15, mains $32, desserts $9-12.

  • Visited January 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carry-0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive review, which will be very helpful to fellow diners, particularly those of us concerned about dietary restrictions.

Our team thoroughly enjoys offering our guests a wide range of personalised options and welcomes everybody to inform us of your needs and preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Meal North of Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

We arrived just as it was turning dark so we were able to enjoy some of the scenery before dinner. We saw tree snakes, frogs and turtles in the pond right next to the restaurant. The sounds of the jungle was an added bonus to our wonderful meal. The portions were small but not unlike other fine dining restaurants. My husband had the Duck and I was surprised with how much meat he got. I enjoyed the tuna and the stuffed mushroom caps. Each plate was made with care and attention to detail, despite the fact that it was quite busy. We felt with the quality of the meal, we were getting a good deal. The servers we had were both great. We had a great time chatting with one of the servers who was from Daintree and lived down the road. Very personable and professional. Probably one of our favourite meals when we visited Australia.

  • Visited January 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmurf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 31 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is a great idea to arrive earlier for our 'muramakka' pre-dinner drinks, to enjoy perhaps chatting with fellow diners, and to appreciate the ambience of the restaurant overlooking the lagoon at twilight.
It is an honour to have been one of your favourite Australian dining experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful food Beautiful environment ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We booked here with our friends and their 3yo.

Based on the water, beautiful view from the decking.

Menu changes every week. We had entree and main. Both cooked beautifully. Came out quickly.

Good service and friendly guy.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Rocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 31 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of an enjoyable evening.
We're pleased you enjoyed the rainforest setting, as well as your dining experience overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julaymba Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Daintree, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree, Daintree Region
 

Been to Julaymba Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing