We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs we've found!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed at Laburnum House for the first time to break our holiday journey. Although we were only staying for a single night, we receive a very warm welcome and great service from Val and her husband. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable; the breakfast as good as other reviewers had suggested (the local black pudding is not to be missed). Having chatted about favourite places in the Dales, we left with a copy of a recommended walk in Swaledale, where we would be staying - going the extra mile for their guests in more ways than one! We will certainly return when in the area again.

Room Tip: Our twin room does not have an ensuite facilities, but sole use of bathroom (with shower) just on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Val is a fantastic, kind and welcoming host whose house is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Her breakfasts were wonderful, with lovely fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and cooked food to order. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and are equipped with TV, kettle and the makings for hot drinks as well as some biscuits. There are toiletries in the ensuite shower rooms and the showers are of a good size. Val was incredibly helpful in recommending places to go and places to eat. If you want a great quality B&B with a warm and generous welcome, we'd recommend Laburnum House.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwichHappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic stay again. Val & Lee makes you feel very welcome and can't do enough to help already booked for next year ,any one wishing to stay in thirsk this b&b is a must it's just a short walk to the town .Rooms are to a very high standard, and the breakfast is tremendous they just make you feel at home when you arrive there .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Booked in for Thirsk races with friends, checked the reviews and it's easy to see why it scores so well. The rooms are pristine and the cleanest B & B I have stayed in, but it was all about the little extras which made the experience that much better. Val really does think of everything and nothing was too much. With the British weather temperamental we were given umbrellas for our short walk to the race course. On booking in we went to our room and you could see the detail and consideration that Val has put into this lovely B & B. Fresh milk available in the room, bottled water which we needed plenty of after a day at the races and no expense spared in the en suite with Sanctuary products and lovely large, soft Towels.
Breakfast is 5 star and my English Breakfast was delicious, especially the black pudding!! My wife went for the healthier option of Fresh raspberries strawberries blueberries pineapple. On the evening we couldn't get a taxi and Val came to the rescue, dropping us off to meet friends amazingly helpful and thoughtful throughout which is why you get 5 stars and my longest review yet. We will be sure to come back and stay again and would recommend highly. Thank you and Well done Val you deserve it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed at this charming B and B with our young daughter who was three months and found it to be really family friendly and comfortable. The owner Val is very accommodating and a lovely lady and anything we needed she provided. The room we stayed in had an en suite and was very clean. The breakfast was lovely as well, Val made any thing that was requested. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindaray100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie w, Owner at Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you so much for this review, you were such perfect guests, and such a lovely daughter, she slept so well, and my other guests commented on how good she was. Look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Warm Regards
Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.9 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
3.3 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
5.8 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
1.0 km away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31 Topcliffe Road | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: ₹ 3,432 - ₹ 6,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello my name is Val and I am the proud owner of laburnum house, a deceptively spacious home with contemporary furnishings, overlooking the Hambleton Hills.I am a Yorkshire lass born and bred, and have lived in the area for 55 years so i have good local knowledge. I can recommend places to visit, where to dine, and wonderful walks – as i am a keen walker myself. I am also passionate about Yorkshire!The house is very deceiving from the outside as you will see. There is a new toilet and hand basin downstairs, the guests dining room is large and beautifully furnished, with a fridge, and adjoining the dining room is a new bespoke orangery just finished in time for spring 2013. It is fully furnished with 3 and 2 seater settee and matching armchair and large footstool, 42″ flat TV, Roberts CD/radio player, and also a selection of board games and good reading.There are 3 rooms – 2 double rooms with ensuite, all newly decorated and large flat screen TVs. And a twin room, with remote control Tempur beds and a new bathroom with shower just a few steps over the landing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laburnum House Bed And Breakfast Thirsk, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing