We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Duck Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
91lizzie
Mt Tamborine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This lovely cottage has it all. A great location, style, charm and that essential cosiness that allows complete relaxation. It's fully equipped and the owners have covered all the important bases - including parking. We loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobAng68
London
2 reviews
“Don't hesitate, book it!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A well presented and comfortable cottage set in a delightful setting overlooking the river with local amenities nearby, as detailed in the other reviews. We will definitely book again for future visits to this area. A minor observation, wifi would be appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandc2308
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cottage!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a wonderful week at this beautifully presented cottage,must mention the fantastic shower! Idyllic location,lovely market town and surrounding area.Loved it and would highly recommend this cottage,thanks to Amanda for all her help!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clantarta...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ;great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just home from a terrific break at Duck Cottage . It is really lovely cottage clean , well appointed and in a perfect location . The market place is a stones throw away with everything needed for a self catering holiday . Thirsk is the perfect spot for exploring North Yorkshire and only 18 minutes by train to York ( much easier than driving and parking ) . We even had a night at the races and had a great time . One tiny point is there is no Wi-Fi or radio . We took our iPod / iPhone and Bluetooth speaker but as there was no wi-Fi or even a 3G signal we had no means of using this . There are radio stations on the TV . Overall , fantastic accommodation , great attention to detail ( coordinating decor and soft furnishings) and spotlessly clean . I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for first class accommodation in a lovely little market town . We hope to return next June

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda M
Zug, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, Comfortable Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Duck Cottage. It's newly renovated, cozy and clean. It was easy to find and well located in a cute alley, lined with flower pots. Literally less than two minutes walk from the middle of Thirsk - grocery stores, coffee shops, fish & chips shop, a great indie book shop.

Great hot water and strong water pressure in the shower, beds were very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
Thank you so much to everyone who has written a review for us. We are delighted that you have all enjoyed your holidays. Our desire is that people should come to our cottage and have a really relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing