We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A lot bigger than you imagine

Looking at the building from the front, you think that it’s just a tour of the house itself but... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
MariD278
,
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great Little Museum

Visited with four children aged between 11 & 15. There were a few nostalgia type things that... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
M6501EIjohna
,
Gillingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,055 reviews
  
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
810
188
29
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
188
29
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tv series alf wight air raid shelter short film well worth a visit his life excellent museum tv set tv studios couple of hours all ages interactive games hands on activities brought back memories happy memories skeldale house actual house
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Looking at the building from the front, you think that it’s just a tour of the house itself but there is do much more to this attraction.
The house is fabulously furnished, it feels like going back to my granny’s with the dark furniture and lots of ornaments - only she didn’t keep cow medicine in the cupboard!!!
You definitely get a feel for the space when you go downstairs into the basement, fitted out as if it was an air raid shelter.
Passing through the kitchen takes you out back and into a large barn area where videos run about the making of the ‘All Creatures Great And Small’ TV series which was based on the writings of James Herriot, I remember watching it as a youngster and admiring the Yorkshire countryside, then you go back through to a mock up of the television sets.
It’s been very well done and there is something for everyone here.
The ladies who work here are so friendly and helpful,and full of information.
Don’t miss it when you visit Thirsk!

Thank MariD278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited with four children aged between 11 & 15. There were a few nostalgia type things that interested them and a few interactive exhibits. I really enjoyed the museum having watched the 'All Creatures Great and Small' series in the 70s/80s and having read the books, and I found the story behind the real James Heriot fascinating. Well worth a visit if you're interested in animals, James Heriot or Yorkshire Vet.

Thank M6501EIjohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here for a very interesting afternoon on Friday. My husband who is not a fan of museums in general was very impressed! It is well laid out and we were particularly impressed with the interactive displays...wished we had had our grand-children with us!

Thank MickyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum was the highlight of our Dales trip. It is simply a must for those who love the books. There is even a section devoted to the filming of the tv series which tv fans will enjoy. I loved seeing the rooms in which the family lived - so many details from the books are on display. I really enjoyed the veterinary displays upstairs- very very informative!

Thank Bronwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Worth every penny for both adults and children. Very amusing interactive room. Film show in barn? Yes barn. Can’t go to Thirsk without about 1 ½ hours here. Friendly helpful staff. Shop for souvenirs if you are that way inclined.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum is great i went here with my dog when James Herriot was alive he was then training Peter wright it's exactly as i remember it so anyone wishing to visit can be reassured it is just the same all the rooms and setting are as it was except lots of educational hands on things to learn along the way and a great shop at the end .

Thank _chanel08642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I’ve read all the books and would have enjoyed this experience whatever the weather or style of displays. It is laid out very tastefully and some rooms have things set out as when it was lived in etc. Some rooms are set up with display cases and the area for children to learn is great too. You can pose for the video cameras and answer the phone to a broad Yorkshire farmers who needs help with birthing a foal....everything is very well thought out and executed. We spent 2hours looking round and learning we could have spent a lot longer....

Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place to spend couple hours. Excellent for kids and great value for money. Highly recommend this place

Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With me been a farmers son and still farming myself it was brilliant to go round JAMES HERRIOT and see all the old vets tools used many years ago.

Thank owlcrazy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So much to see and much bigger than we thought. Everything is well presented and information about the exhibits is excellent. Relived my childhood favourite books. Great to see educational activities for the children.

Thank AlisonH2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews