We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, great proper ale, cosy atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab food, great proper ale, cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had been for a drink the night before and the bar was snug and atmosphere good so we booked a table for the next night. During January and February they have a 2-4-1 offer on if booked 24 hours in advance. We enjoyed prawn cocktail, spicy king prawns, a sirloin steak each and a nice bottle of Prosecco all for under £50. The fire was roaring and the bar filled up throughout the evening, definitely have to book a table for dinner as it got quite busy, but the food was really nice good grub.

Staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    250
    67
    18
    21
See reviews for
143
477
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed with friends on New Year's Eve, the staff were very welcoming and obliging and the room was clean and warm (too warm as it turned out as the radiator would not turn off and we had to leave the window open). However the double bed was very small - a king size would have been much better. We had the New Year buffet which we felt was over priced for the content. The food was cleared away with indecent haste and there was no opportunity for extras if you had wanted them. At the end of the meal the tables were cleared and set up for breakfast which we felt was a bit previous considering the price of the evening. Otherwise a cosy place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyfanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just returned from yet another visit to the Golden Fleece (our third New Year visit in as many years). As a regular user (overnight stays, Sunday lunches, evening bar meals and a venue for meetings) we've never been disappointed.
From first entering the hotel to leaving, the staff are always exceptionally welcoming, polite and helpful. The rooms are always clean and well presented and any minor difficulties are always resolved. An example of this is when we attended last New Year and the severe weather caused a major disruption in the supply off water in the Thirsk area, the efforts of the staff to minimise the effect of this on the guests was excellent.
We have always been impressed by the quality of food, the speed of service and the desire to cater to individual needs.
The Golden Fleece benefits by being a very charming individual building at the centre of the market town of Thirsk. This charm is enhanced by the buzz which is generated by being at the heart of the market place.
Over the years that we have visited the Fleece, we have seen considerable investment take place in the hotel, ie, Paddock Bar, Writing Room, Ballroom, we look forward to the Dining Room receiving similar attention.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QwertyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed on NY's eve & had a wonderful time. We had a lovely double room with a massive bathroom. The service was great & the breakfast delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crlawrence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

we have just got back from a four night chrismas break at the golden fleece at thirsk.
we stayed in the dick turpin room for the first time,a great quirky room with a four poster bed,then up a set of steps to a dressing room area then into the bathroom.
the room was nice and spacious with a nice old fire place in it.
the room has got one entry door but 3 exit doors (very quirky) the view is not brilliant but its nice and quiet you will get a great nights sleep.
as ever the food is first class,the staff always friendly and efficient as always a couple of new faces since our last visit but they seem to be doing ok.
if you want to go somewhere for a nice short christmas break thats down to earth and very friendly then go to the golden fleece at thirsk,check the website or just give jo the manager a call.
well done to jo and the team!
thanks for a great christmas chris and sheelagh

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
2.1 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
18.4 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
731 reviews
10.3 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
14.4 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
298 reviews
18.3 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Property: Golden Fleece Hotel
Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,040 - ₹ 11,051
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk
Golden Fleece Hotel Thirsk, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing