We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”
Review of The Buck Inn

The Buck Inn
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the beautiful rural village of Maunby, in the heart of The Vale of York, you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire welcome at The Buck Inn* Head chef Will Vernon brings his unique personality and expertise to the kitchen with an eclectic menu, cooked fresh using the best of locally sourced, fresh seasonal produce* Yorkshire cask ales* oak beams & log fires* comfortable seating and dining* available for private functions and receptions* free parking* community orientated* we're dog friendly and love cyclists
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came across this little gem after visiting the nearby bird of prey centre last Sunday. Good choice of Sunday lunches and a few extra meals for those not wanting a roast dinner. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was fantastic. I had the Mac n cheese with advocado which was amazing.
Very reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Well worth a visit. Thanks

Thank Sarahlouise1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS12795, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You can’t go wrong with the Mac n cheese, a very popular dish since it came onto the menu recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Evening meal for 4 during the week. Food and service really good. Seafood platter excellent and fish & chips generous and superb. They went the extra mile for our faddy vegetarian friend. Top tip for veggies: call ahead and they will do their best to make what you want - their regular fat chips are lovely but cooked in beef dripping.
Well worth the trip to out-of-the-way Maunby.
Would thoroughly recommend.

Thank Flypast25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS12795, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We always try to cater for everyone’s needs and I’m pleased that this is appreciated. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Called for an evening meal and we were pleased to find a little gem. Great food ,good atmosphere and excellent value. Highly recommended.

Thank Tour136971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS12795, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Brilliant, glad you found everything to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

A place we kept meaning to try after reading the positive reviews, and finally we visited last night with relatives - 5 of us and Bella the dog. What a delight! Very attractively decorated pub in a pretty village. We were made very welcome and had superb service throughout the evening. Very nice menu which pleased everyone. Most of the party opted for the fish and chips and one had the Buck Inn burger. All plates were emptied and very positive comments all round! The batter on the fish was lovely, light and crispy. Something many places just can't do, but they have it right here. Desserts were just as delightful, Eton mess, cheese board and a lemon tart. We liked it so much, we've booked Saturday night. We are confident this is now on our list of go to pubs! And an important thing for us - they allow dogs too! Highly recommended.

Thank Annieroboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS12795, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Great to read that your research was backed up with a lovely evening to our pub. Look forward to seeing you and Bella the dog in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Messaged and booked at last minute and received an instant reply.
2 adults and 2 children we were seated at a window over looking the lovely garden.
Food, drinks and service were great.
Lovely family friendly restaurant.

Thank mariemcharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkS12795, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

We always try to fit people in if we can and and love to see families around the dinner table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buck Inn also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing