We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit”
Review of The Buck Inn

The Buck Inn
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the beautiful rural village of Maunby, in the heart of The Vale of York, you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire welcome at The Buck Inn* Head chef Will Vernon brings his unique personality and expertise to the kitchen with an eclectic menu, cooked fresh using the best of locally sourced, fresh seasonal produce* Yorkshire cask ales* oak beams & log fires* comfortable seating and dining* available for private functions and receptions* free parking* community orientated* we're dog friendly and love cyclists
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Booked this restaurant for a late Saturday Lunch. Lovely friendly atmosphere and excellent food and wine with an ample and varied menu. Greeted by first name and seated at appropriate table for two.

No hesitation in recommending The Buck Inn.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 904mariejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Pleased to hear your comments as they mirror what we are trying to achieve, high quality and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across the Buck Inn on our way South from Scotland. We wanted somewhere that served decent pub food and was also dog friendly. This place fitted the bill to a tee. Friendly, welcoming staff. I had the luxury fish pie followed by sticky toffee pudding. Both were fantastic. The setting is typical of a country pub with an open fire and rural surroundings. It was approx 15 mins off the A1, but we'll worth the visit.

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Glad that we met your requirements! We’re a true country pub so welcome dogs, walkers, cyclists etc. We’re pleased to see just about anyone! Our ethos is to be friendly and serve great food which is exactly what you have highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

A return visit to The Buck Inn, now under new management. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly as well as helpful. I had the fish pie, lots of salmon and smoked fish in a tasty sauce. Definitely to be recommended, will be going back.

Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We’ve been here since May 2017 and have been working hard to get the pub on the right road. Good to see you enjoyed the food and the ambience. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Met friends for lunch here on Sunday, it has a lovely atmosphere and staff very friendly and welcoming.
We were shown to a lovely table near the open fire (much needed as it was a cold day). I started with a Prawn and Crayfish cocktail which was delicious then I opted for the Roast Lamb and WOW was I pleased with my choice. Perfectly cooked and still moist with great vegetables and the Cauliflower Cheese soon dissapeared. Finished off with Creme Brule that came with a red fruit Coulis and melt in the mouth Shortbread. All finished off with coffee we will defiantly be returning here and the price of £18.00 for 3 courses is very fair. All in all a stunning meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. Pleased to hear that you felt welcomed as we pride ourselves on our ‘friendliness’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

What a wonderful pub in a lovely little village. Whilst staying in the area we went for an evening meal on the Thursday with our 2 dogs and it was so good we returned for a superb Roast the following Sunday. We had starters of prawn and crayfish cocktail and chicken liver parfait with focaccia crisps. Both were delicious and plentiful. Followed by the tastiest Kedgeree and pan fried chicken breasts we've ever had. Then on the Sunday we both had the Roast beef with Yorkshire puddings accompanied by braised red cabbage, cauliflower cheese, carrots and broccoli.Followed by Lime panna cotta with pineapple salsa and Crème brulee with fruit compote and shortbread biscuits. Everything was excellent. Both visits for 2 people having 2 courses and drinks were little more than £30 so also excellent value for money. Staff were very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning next time we visit the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank civic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for the great review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of both visits. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buck Inn also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing