We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

The White Horse Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 20/01
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for lunch, for two people as a treat before the 2nd lockdown. Have visited the restaurant in the past , so was looking forward to a nice meal. Unfortunately, this wasn’t to be . Opted for a crab starter , which was nice and well presented. Then as a treat , we both opted for the seafood linguine . The plates arrived , and both looked completely different. My partners linguine had quite a large amount of bisque sauce , while mine was absent . We called the waitress who was very apologetic and returned the dish to be rectified. I can’t say this was a good dish , we both found the dish lacking flavour and seemed to just taste like cream smothered on the pasta . I’m not sure if we just visited on an off day ,but this seafood linguine was not up to the price and standard expected . Wasn’t looking for a refund or a deduction off the bill , but this was not even offered by staff. Waitress seemed quite keen to get the bill settled and that was that .Not a good experience for us .

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank amphcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

I am disappointed to read that you were underwhelmed with your seafood linguine, your feedback is very important to us as it helps us in our ultimate goal which is to make people happy.

Please come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Myself and my husband booked a table here for lunch for Wednesday 4th November, so the day before England was going into a 4 week lockdown.

We were greatly warmly, as we had arrived slightly early for our table we were able to sit at a table close to the bar and have a drink whilst looking at the menu. The lady apologised (sorry didn’t get her name but think she was maybe the manager). We explained it wasn’t a problem at all as we were early but had plenty of time.

Once shown to our table (next to a lovely warm radiator) we admired to views over the salt marshes. It’s got such lovely views. Our waiter Ilja was just delightful and very attentive.

For starters we shared the lovely warm sourdough and the spiced cauliflower. For mains I had the fancy sausage and mash and my husband had the seafood linguine - both meals were delicious.

The restaurant has a lovely feel to it. All the staff were working hard and it did not appear to let the fact that lockdown 2 was the following day. So credit to them.

I was a bit dubious about our visit having read a few negative reviews but there was no need to. This place was one of our favourite during our stay in North Norfolk for the week.

Thank you.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank lynnFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience,

I am so pleased that you were well looked after by my team and you had a great time.

Come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020

We booked for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were very spoilt! We had the best table, with a lovely view and were given a card and two glasses of Prosecco! Lunch was beyond excellent and the staff completely delightful. The White Horse just never lets us down - highly recommended!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TotesMagrotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for your lovey review,

I am delighted that you had a great time celebrating your wedding anniversary with us.

Come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

Fourth visit to the Marshside side restaurant, well worth it. You can't make a reservation. Very interesting menu, the Mussels are to die for. Fantastic staff, always helpful and the view is amazing, I did notice yesterday that there was a fan heating system installed

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review,

We cannot wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We visited on 3rd November for lunch to celebrate my wife’s birthday
On arrival we were given a complimentary birthday ay drink and card along with a birthday cake after the meal
We had a 3 course meal that we could not fault and with a fantastic restaurant view and friendly helpful staff I would definitely recommend a visit. We will most certainly be returning

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank B1303GDdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review,

We are delighted that your wife had a great time and was spoilt on her birthday.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Kind Regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 
Burnham Market, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.